Questions about SSD on MacBook Pro 15" 2011

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by henry72, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. henry72, Sep 18, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011

    henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    I'm planning to put a SSD on my coming MacBook Pro 15" 2011.

    1. Is anyone having any problems like can't wake from sleep or hibernate?

    2. I'm going to put an OCZ Agility 3 on the main bay, do I need to enable TRIM on OS X Lion or it's built inside the SSD?

    3. I will use the optical bay for the 750GB HDD that comes with the MacBook Pro. Is this a good mount? http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/DDAMBS0GB/
    If I do that, my hard drive is not protected by studden motion sensor right?

    Sorry I'm new to this stuff. I just want to make sure it works before I buy the SSD and make this happen. :)

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. datumax macrumors newbie

    datumax

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #2
    No issues to report

    I have the OWC Data Doubler, a Kingston V100+ 128 GB SSD in my optical bay and a Seagate Momentus 750 GB in my HD slot.

    My SSD has TRIM built-in. There's a utility you can google to enable Trim on yours.

    If you're getting the Data Doubler, check to see if your SSD is 6 gbps before you buy. You'll regret it later if you put in a 3 gbps SSD.

    Good luck, and remember to search the forums before you post.
     
  3. basher macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #3
    Did adding the SSD via the data doubler reduce the amount of time you can run on battery?
     

Share This Page