Questions about the refresh

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lilcosco08, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. lilcosco08 macrumors 65816

    lilcosco08

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dayton
    #1
    Are the graphics still mobility cards?

    And do/will the 27 inch models support 1080p input?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. lilcosco08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    lilcosco08

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dayton
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
  5. lilcosco08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    lilcosco08

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dayton
    #5
    I'm talking about plugging into the iMac
     
  6. Ravich macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    What exactly does this mean has changed?
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    You mean like plugging a Blu-Ray player into the iMac's Mini DisplayPort and using the iMac as a monitor? Isn't that possible with the 27" iMac from the first generation?


    Nothing.
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    Currently it is limited to 720p but there is a box that can do 1080p but it's 100$ more
     
  9. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #9
    That's stupid. The iMac does support 2560 x 1440 pixel when used as a computer display and connected to an MBP though?
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    Yeah, when it's DisplayPort to DisplayPort, it's full reso without issues, but when using DVI/HDMI it's been limited to 720p unless you buy one of those scalers (cost about 100$ more than normal converters)
     
  11. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #11
    Ah, thanks for that information. But is it limited due to the iMac and some kind of artificial limitation put in by Apple, or does it come from somewhere else? Even HDMI and (Dual-Link) DVI can transfer more than 1920 x 1200.
     
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    AppleInsider says it's firmware limitation but I don't get it why Atlona has made converters that support the native res (the boxes in the bottom)
     

Share This Page