Questions about transferring data and accounts to a new Ipad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by highdefjunkie, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. highdefjunkie macrumors 6502

    highdefjunkie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    I am going to swap out my 3G Ipad with a brand new one at work. (My current one has a couple of small dents in the back).

    Whats the best way to do this?

    Since it take hours upon hours to do a backup, can I just sync it?

    What about transferring my AT&T account?
     
  2. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #2
    Backup old...sync new with restore from backup.
     
  3. highdefjunkie thread starter macrumors 6502

    highdefjunkie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    What if I can't do a backup?? Seriously the battery runs out before it finishes.
     
  4. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Then charge your battery first, I don't see what the issue is.


    Back up your old iPad, resync to your new one. If you're willing to sacrifice some information on your old iPad, you can pick and choose what you want to backup; that will help cut down on the backup time.
     
  5. highdefjunkie thread starter macrumors 6502

    highdefjunkie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    Even with a full charge it won't finish. Does my monthly ATT account get transferred over as well, or do I just simply configure it again with my ATT account?
     
  6. MrWillie macrumors 65816

    MrWillie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Location:
    Starlite Starbrite Trailer Court
    #6
    Why are you worried about a couple of small dents in the back???


    Long back ups... Let me guess, 64 gig, with 63 gigs of crap on it. Delete the crap, back up iPad,
    Restore new one, resync old crap.

    Edit: I am in the deep south, everything is s**t. Suppertime : Thats some good s**t ma. (back of her hand to the face). Point is I don't mean it in a derogatory way...

    Seriously, delete pdf's, music, videos, ect and back up, then resync
     
  7. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #7
    There's something wrong with that -- full charge is 10 hours, backup should take at most a few hours. Delete the current backup and try doing a fresh one.
     
  8. highdefjunkie thread starter macrumors 6502

    highdefjunkie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    No worries!!! Love the sarcasm. And why worry about dents? Resale value when I buy the next one. ;);)

    Actually it's only 32 gig and I haven't even filled it up 30 percent. I have no clue why it's takings long to backup. So when I do a restore, does that also restore my data plan on the new device??

    Thanks guys,
     
  9. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #9
    I doubt it. but I think all you have to do is enter the email and password you used to set up your data plan. Oh, and I'd take the sim out of the old one, and put it in the new one, just to be sure.
     
  10. MrWillie macrumors 65816

    MrWillie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Location:
    Starlite Starbrite Trailer Court
    #10
    Actually a 49 year old aquantance of mine got backhanded by his mother for telling her that at a gathering. Never laughed so hard in all my life.

    I also have a few gigs of pdf's on mine.
     

Share This Page