Questions about Unlocking 3G (using Rebel SIM)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by PrimeCipher, Oct 30, 2008.

  1. PrimeCipher macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #1
    From what I've read, it is possible to unlock the iPhone 3G in two ways: 1) using Windows unlock it via QuickPwn (I'm not sure whether or not the Mac version is currently available) and 2) buy a Rebel SIMcard, which requires you to cut your current SIM card. There is another option, where you don't have to cut your card, but I have not seen any reviews on whether or not it works.

    Now the main reason I want this is because I travel fairly constantly to China, primarily Beijing and some other regions. I was hoping that I could use my iPhone over there, rather than my current solution of a Treo 650. I'd prefer to use something like Rebel SIMcard, but am hesitant to cut up my current SIM, and also am afraid that this won't even work in China.

    If anyone has bought this Rebel SIMcard and it has worked, was it easy to set up? Do you just put in the SIM and it automatically unlocks your phone?
     
  2. TheBold macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #2
    buy the GEVEY-3G sim, Iam using it for the last two months with no problems.
    it is the best to use...no need to cut the sim card..found on ebay.
    here is the way, remove the SIM tray then put the turbo sim and on the top of it place your sim card and re insert the tray...thats all, your phone should work and get the signal.
     
  3. PrimeCipher thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #3
    Gevey-sim

    Just curious, can you remove the GEVEY-SIM and just use the normal SIM card at times say...when you need to use airplane mode? Will it still work or once you use the GEVEY-SIM does it only work with that?
     
  4. PrimeCipher thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #4
    Do I need to jailbreak?

    Also, do I need to jailbreak my phone in order to use GEVEY-SIM?
     
  5. DuggerSJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #5
    RebelSim Cutter

    I wouldn't let the thought of cutting the SIM bother you. RebelSim has a SIM notcher you can also purchase that does this for you easily. It does not affect the chip and you can still use it in other phones. It's basically a one-hole punch with a template for the card to fit into.



    Randy
     
  6. TheBold macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #6
    no problem at all...airplane mod eand jailbreak has nothing to do with the Gevey....

    DuggerSJ...

    why cut and buy the notcher while we have the best/cheaper solution (GEVEY-3G)?
     
  7. PrimeCipher thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #7
    TheBold, it's just that when I read a little about GEVEY-SIM they said never to turn on airplane mode. Don't really understand why you can't use it, but eh...
     
  8. Peters33 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #8
    no software unlock

    Prime, its not possible to unlock the 3G phone with Quickpwn. Quickpwn only performs a jailbreak on the iPhone. ( jailbreaking basicly means that it will add Cydia and Installer to the iPhone - wich lets you install many free software apps. - this is not an unlock!)
    The devteam is working on a software unlock, but my guess its it will take a while before they hack it.

    For now your only option to unlock is by using a hardware sim solution.
    Finding reviews on the right card for you is kind of tricky. I recommend this solution: www.iphone-sim-unlock.com/3G.html This works well for me. It seems these guys tested all the sims on the market. I been with i-smartphone sim and yessim. they both didnt work for me.

    Hope this helps!
     
  9. TheBold macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #9
    I am using Gevey-3G and putting the phone on airplane mode without any problem.
     
  10. basconcio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #10
    It doesn't work with me. I purchased 3 rebelsim cards, updated it to the latest firmware, done the complete procedure in the tutorial SEVERAL times. I will probably pay to vodafone for them to unlock it. It's locked to Vodafone Portugal. Don't buy this card...
     
  11. jeffirl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    I've had 2 Turbo SIM's (non-cut GEVEY) shipped from US to Ireland. Neither worked on o2's network here. I then purchased a Rebel SIM which I had to cut my SIM. I've been using it for 5 weeks now with no issues. I see now there are no cute Rebel SIM's http://www.rebelsimcard.com/virtu/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=11&Itemid=1 I don't know if they work any better or worse.

    If you travel to another country it is unlikey the iphone will be automatically be able to find another network. There is no manual network search option with the piggyback sime installed. You will need to remove the sim put in another normal phone, find and select network and finally put back in iPhone.
     

Share This Page