Questions Before Buying Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Horowitz, Aug 15, 2007.

1. Horowitz macrumors newbie

Hi, I am a college student intending to buy a new MBP from the online Apple store. I have some questions I want to clear up before buying. This will be my first Mac ever.

1. How long does it usually take for the MBP to arrive? I really need to get it within August 27-31, because I will be leaving after that. Do you think I can still make it?
    2. Suppose I choose the default configuration, but with a glossy display. Can this delay my order? What if I choose a Spanish keyboard?
    3. If I choose the Spanish keyboard, will everything else (i.e. the OS) be in Spanish? If so, can I easily change it to English?
    4. Do you recommend the glossy display?
    5. Do you know in what way exactly do the Spanish vs. English keyboards differ? If I order the English one, can I still change the system preferences so it acts as a Spanish one and I can easily put accents?
    6. If I use the iPod rebate offer to get a free iPod, will the iPod ship togheter with the Mac and will they arrrive on the same date?
    7. Suppose I buy physically. I know the Education discount applies in a physical Apple store, but can I also use it if I buy from an authorized reseller (say, BestBuy or CompUSA)? What about Amazon?

And finally:

Right now I am in Mexico, and I want to pick up my laptop in Texas. I can travel easily. The problem is I do not have a permanent address in Texas. Can I just pick up the laptop physically with the carrier? To do that, should I just call the carrier once the laptop is shipped? And what address should I put if I do this?

Thanks a lot in advance.

2. CalBoy macrumors 604

CalBoy

I'm answering as best as I can, and only what I could. Hope it helps.