Questions from a Bluetooth newbie :)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Nermal, Dec 13, 2007.

1. Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

I got my first Bluetooth phone today (a Vodafone 715) and I'm just learning about Bluetooth. I've paired the phone (I had to copy an authorisation code from the computer to the phone) and I've discovered Bluetooth File Exchange.

Whenever I try to browse my phone using BFE, the phone says that an untrusted connection is being made, and asks whether I want to let it continue. Was pairing supposed to stop this from happening?

In addition, I remember seeing a (Macworld?) demo years ago where OS X would pop up a screen whenever a call was received, showing who it was from etc. I believe you could also call directly from Address Book, although I might be dreaming this part up :)

So… any tips or suggestions :)

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

I'm really no expert, but it looks like ti treats the connections separately. After you've allowed it once, does it continue asking for permission?

I think this depends on the phone you have. In the Bluetooth pane of System Preferences, you can select your Vodafone 715 and then click Configure. This should give you a list of things your phone can do for your Mac. For me it's simply sync and provide internet access, but I have a Motorola L6.

3. NicP macrumors 6502

This is in tiger but not in leopard

4. Nermal thread starter Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

Yes, it asks every single time.

I don't have Configure. I'm on Leopard if that makes any difference:

Attached Files:

5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

I shoulda guessed. You've always been a sucker for the glitzy operating systems! :D

What does the Advanced button do?

6. Nermal thread starter Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

Nothing interesting.

Attached Files:

7. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

QuarterSwede