Questions (hypothetical situation)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by bkingtu83, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. bkingtu83 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #1
    Ok, lets say that i have an iphone 4 with ios 4.1 jailbroken with a 01.59.00 baseband preserved with tiny umbrella and saved shsh with tiny umbrella as well

    My first question is, if i were to restore my phone like it has never been jailbroken, would i have to restore it with the stock 4.1 update? If so that would lose the 01.59 baseband, correct?

    This is just a situation i was thinking about. Any input is appreciated

    My second question is regarding unlocking. In all essence, if you unlock your phone, all you have to do is plug in a sim card for that certain carrier (tmobile, o2, at&t) and it will work on that carrier?
     
  2. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

    h1r0ll3r

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland
    #2
    Yes. You'd lose the 1.59 baseband and it would get upgraded during the restore process. This would be in case you had to take your phone in the Genius Bar for something. If you wanted to restore again using 4.1, then all you would need to do is go through the same process again with tiny umbrella.

    Once your phone is unlocked then all you'd need to do is insert your card and it should work normally.
     
  3. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

    ZCherub

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    GA, USA
    #3
    I will say that I was JB'd and I restored through iTunes (not using firmware saved on my PC, and did not run TU) prior to taking my iPhone 4 in to the Apple store. For some reason, my 1.59.00 BB was still on the phone after the restore (I selected restore as new iPhone FWIW).

    I took the phone to the Apple store for a hardware issue, and they swapped the iPhone out w/out any problems - even though it still had the 1.59.00 BB (perhaps they didn't notice?).

    Generally speaking, though - if you want Apple to do anything with your phone, you should restore through iTunes (you shouldn't have my issue - your BB should upgrade to the one that comes w/ 4.1 firmware).
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    I doubt they will go into settings to check if the bb matches the firmware version. You'd be fine.
     
  5. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    True, but they do hook your iphone up to a diagnostic mac program and that could easily be one of the things they look for.
     
  6. bkingtu83 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010

Share This Page