Questions Regarding 64-bit Windows 7 on Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by DemonicZeus, Mar 13, 2014.

  1. DemonicZeus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #1
    Hello everyone, I've searched for references before creating this thread but there was not enough explanation for my need.
    I thought I'd need a detailed answers for my specific questions.

    I have a Mid 2009 2.26 GHz Macbook Pro running OS X Mavericks.
    I also have a Bootcamp partition running 32-bit Windows 7 because I haven't upgraded my RAM (which I have now to 6 GB memory).

    My questions are:
    1. I need to re-install my Windows 7 to 64-bit since I can't use all of the 6 GB memory because I'm running 32-bit (maximum 2.7 GB usable) to play Rocksmith 2014. Are there any negative effects or differences if I run 64-bit?
    2. Can my Mac (with my upgraded RAM) run the 64-bit? Will there be any lags?
    3. What do I need besides the 64-bit installer to re-install my Windows Bootcamp?

    That's about all guys, I would appreciate any comments or suggestions regarding this topic.

    Thank you for coming by.
     
  2. Newtons Apple, Mar 13, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2014

    Newtons Apple macrumors Pentium

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #2
    I am running 64 bit Win 7 Pro on BootCamp on my late 2013 rMBPro and it is very fast. Sorry I can't help with all of your questions as it was set up by the retailer, but it is worth the trouble!
     
  3. DemonicZeus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #3
    Alright, no problem! Thanks for sharing though.
     
  4. saturnotaku, Mar 14, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2014

    saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #4
    1. No.

    2a. Yes.
    2b. Lags?

    3. You will need the Windows support software and updated drivers for your GPU, which you can download directly from NVIDIA.
     
  5. DemonicZeus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #5

    I've seen some where an old Unibody Macbook with 2 ghz core 2 duo runs 64 bit after upgrading to 4 GB RAM.

    Any explanation regarding this?

    Thanks
     
  6. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    I don't have that specific machine to answer whether or not it would have drivers for the 64-bit version, but in every way the 64-bit version is the best way to go if the drivers support it. There are no drawbacks to speak of other than not being able to run any 16-bit applications. This typically is not an issue as only very old software would use 16-bit installers. The 32-bit version of Windows can run the old 16-bit installers, but x64 will not. This would only be apparent if you are running very old software.

    You cannot do any type of upgrade to the 64-bit version - you will have to do a clean installation of it from the media. Your product key for the 32-bit version will work on the 64-bit, however.

    "Lags?" Not sure what you mean by "lags?"
     
  7. DemonicZeus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #7

    I totally understand I would need to do a clean install but I'm concerned more if my Mac can run x64 with my current spec. Can it or can't it?

    Thanks
     
  8. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #8
    If your system can run OS X Mavericks, it can run 64-bit Windows.
     
  9. DemonicZeus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #9

    My system runs OS X Mavericks flawlessly.
     
  10. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #10
    I misread your post when I first responded. Only the very first MacBook Pros (2006?) could not run 64-bit operating systems. You will be fine.
     

Share This Page