Quick confirmation on RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JustOneQuickONe, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. JustOneQuickONe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #1
    Went to crucial.com and used the auto identifier to see how much RAM my MBP can handle. It says 8GB on the site, just wanted to make sure this is correct. Its a mid 2009:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz

    With 2GB memory(RAM) right now. IS 8GB correct? It doesn't matter if I buy any other brand, if it's truly 8, any brand that bumps to 8 will work (as long as it's the correct format)?

    Thanks... tired of this damn beachball....
     
  2. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #2

    Correct. I believe you want DDR3 1066MHz ram.

    Here are 3 I recommend; All the same specs, just different brands.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9-481^20-139-481-TS,20-148-276^20-148-276-02#
     
  3. JustOneQuickONe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
  4. Rhinoevans macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #4
  5. JustOneQuickONe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #5
    I have an 09-er, so it'll take the same as your 2012? Also what site is OWC? I'll have to check out their prices
     
  6. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    Your mid 2009 can only accept 2 X 4GB. I ended up with Corsair in mine, but Crucial, Kingston and g.skill all work great.

    I don't like OWC because I feel they charge too much.

    http://www.macsales.com/
     
  7. JustOneQuickONe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #7
  8. gordon1hd1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #8
    From the look of the amazon link you posted, you got the wrong ram. The picture from the amazon link looks like it is desktop ram. You need laptop ram (sodimm).
     
  9. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
  10. JustOneQuickONe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #10
    Well, that's good to know. Looks like I'll keep looking. Thanks!
     
  11. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    I skimmed through the reviews and came across a few happy Mac users in all of these. If I had to choose between them, I'd probably buy the g.skill. If you want to wait, I bet some good deals will pop up in the next few weeks(black friday).

    g.skill:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231342

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231295

    Here is a Kingston kit:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820139482

    and here is a Corsair kit(what I've got in my mid 2009 MBP):

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145281
     
  12. JustOneQuickONe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008

Share This Page