Quick Help PLS! (Removing an object from video in FCE)

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by ~J~, Oct 11, 2007.

  1. ~J~ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #1
    Hey guys, Im new to video editing... but need some quick help. Ive been scouring all the online and help articles I can find... but not getting the answers there...

    Someone walked in front of my cam during a recording and I need to remove the top of their head (just from the video, altho I initially wanted to give them a labotomy for walking in front of the cam in the first place as well...) :eek:

    Anyone know how I can do this? It was rather quick, there is about 20 frames that I need to remove this "obstruction".

    Also... anyone know how to remove a jolt in the video? Someone must have bumped the table that the tripod & cam was on and it shook. Is there an easy way to get the video to look completely stable again?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #2
    your first challenge is going to be finding video to put in place of the guy's head. it's not a matter of cutting him out as much as it is putting something there instead. this footage will need to match the background. if you don't have that, then you can't remove the head without just making a hole in your video.

    as for the bump, short of just cutting it out, there aren't really any solutions.
     
  3. JAC3085 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #3
    You might try this.

    If you don't have video for the guy's head and depending on the exact surrounding area in the video field. You might want to export the 20 frames to Photoshop and just edit 'by hand' the 20 frames. The same might be said for frame by frame edits of the shaky video. It all depends on how many frames it is, how much time you have and how good you are in Photoshop. But you can really effectively fix anything like this. It's a ghetto as hell way of handling it but if the problem is that dramatic and for that few frames it might be a viable option if the content is that important.
     
  4. erichian macrumors newbie

    erichian

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    North Texas
    #4
    Can I do this with iMovie as well, I had no clue you could export video to photoshop.

     
  5. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #5
    You can't. You export frames to Photoshop not video.
     

Share This Page