Quick (I hope) PwnageTool Question

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by justgeoff, May 12, 2011.

  1. justgeoff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #1
    I've downloaded PwnageTool 4.3.3.1 to jailbreak iOS 4.2.8 on my Mac but when I go to general setting after selecting the ipsw I'm not able to click the Activate Phone options. In fact, all the options are greed out except the partition size option.

    Anyone have any idea what might be going on?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Why would you need to hactivate it?
    Leave it unchecked, you can activate officially with itunes.
     
  3. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #3
    I don't think pwnage tool has even been updated to work with 4.2.8 anyway.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Me neither.
    Unless he's using a custom bundle or something?
     
  5. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #5
    Nor has it been updated to work with 4.2.7. Clearly verizon jailbreaks are not something the team is interested in sadly.
     
  6. justgeoff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #6
    Well that explains why it won't boot after I do the update. I read that it could be done with PwnageTool, guess not. :(

    So is there any way to jailbreak 4.2.8 untethered as of now?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Only if you use snowbreeze with a windows PC.
     
  8. justgeoff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #8
    I'm Mac only. Bummer.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    I know, it sucks.
    Maybe use someones PC to JB it or something.
     
  10. justgeoff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #10
    On my MacBook Pro I have a small Windows partition but it's running XP. Will those apps even run with XP?
     
  11. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #11
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Yes xp will work fine.
     
  13. justgeoff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #13
  14. justgeoff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
  15. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #15
  16. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #16
    Indeed

    Made possible by @ih8sn0w, which i would say is on the same level as the Dev Team..
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Not even close to the same level...
     

Share This Page