Quick MacBook CD RAM question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by someguy, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. someguy macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #1
    I just purchased a 2GB DDR2-800 module for my MacBook, installed it (leaving one of the original 512MB modules installed) and when I turned the machine on, the optical drive made its usual noise, then I got nothing but the sleep light.

    I can boot fine with just the 2GB chip installed, and the system runs great, so my question is am I not able to mix memory modules of different bus speeds? Is this just a MacBook thing? I know with DDR the faster modules will reduce their clock speed to match the slower modules, and I thought this was the case with DDR2.

    So what gives? :confused:
     
  2. Glennsune macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  3. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    Is this for the MacBook Core Duo in your signature ?

    If so it is because you have hit the maximum ram limit with the 2GB chip (the 2GB + 512MB takes it over...)

    see http://guides.macrumors.com/Understanding_Intel_Mac_RAM

    I thought that Core Duo machines would not even boot with 2GB Ram chips in the memory slots ?
     
  4. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #4
    Well, it looks as though I've max'd out the RAM in my MacBook. Might as well sell off the two 512MB chips that came out of it.

    Thanks for the info, guys. :)
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    You can mix speeds, but it's not recommended at all.
     

Share This Page