Quick ?: New WD MyBook Formatting

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MM07, Mar 5, 2008.

  1. MM07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #1
    I have done a lot of searching aorund here, but I just want to be sure.

    I just got a new 320 G MyBook Home external drive to use Time Machine.

    I want to be sure of what I need to format it as.

    I only have OS X now. I might in the future use Windows by using Parallels or VMware Fusion. I'm just not sure when (if) I'll do this.

    I will only back up Windows using Time Machine. Since Windows, for a better word, will be in OS X, can I use HFS+?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Just use HFS+ with journaling and enjoy Time Machine.
     
  3. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #3
    Yep just use disk utility to format it, the default settings should be fine unless you want to partition it.
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    Yes, HFS+ is best. It is only if you use Boot Camp that you may need FAT32, and that is only if you want to view Mac stuff on Windows.

    TEG
     
  5. MM07 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #5
    That's what I'll do.

    I might partition maybe 50 G for other back ups, not Time Machine stuff.

    Is bootcamp better than parallels or VM?


    I thank you all for your help.
     
  6. MM07 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #6
    Hey guys, one more question? :)

    I will do 250 GB HFS+ journaled for Time Machine, then 50 GB for other back ups, should that one be HFS+ journaled as well?
     
  7. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #7
    If you're using an Intel Mac and you may one day install OS X boot on that drive, you must partition it as GUID (under the Partions:Options tab of Disk Utility).
     
  8. MM07 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #8
    I am using an Intel Mac. Why would I need to do that? And how much space would that need?
     
  9. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #9
    All Intel-based Macs can only boot from a GUID partition. If you install OS X on any other partition scheme, it will not boot. It shouldn't take up any space.
     

Share This Page