Quick noob q's (IT'S HERE BUT...!!)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gelgel, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. gelgel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    #1
    Hi all, I am about to place my order on the new imac. But before I place my order... I was wondering, will I be able to upgrade it to 16gb rams myself later on if I go w/ the 4gb option?
     
  2. iLidz macrumors member

    iLidz

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Yes. And for less $$ too!
     
  3. gelgel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    #4
    Awesome! Thanks soooooo much for the quick replies! :D
     
  4. iLidz macrumors member

    iLidz

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Yes. And for less $$ too!
     
  5. gelgel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    #6
    Hi all I got another q's...
    I am torn between 1TB or 2TB hard drive...
    so I am thinking.. Is it possible to install windows7 on an external hard drive via firewire 800 (I suppose this is the fastest method aside from the TB technology?) and boot from there?
     
  6. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #7
    Windows has to be on an internal SATA disk (unless there is some future Thunderbolt boot for Windows). I'd get the 2TB if you can afford it and setup Windows on part of the main system drive.

    Cheers,
     
  7. gelgel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    #8
    What about the other way around? Can I install Mac OS on an external HD or thunderbolt external SSD?
     
  8. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #9
    You could load it on an external FW 800 or Thunderbolt drive....but why?
     
  9. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #10
    Yes, that would work. You could load Windows on the internal and OS X externally.

    Cheers,
     
  10. gelgel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    #11
    Thanks for the responses!

    Just in case if I will regret for not getting the 2 TB or the SSD in the future :D

    And it seems a cheaper route w/ competitive speed to the internals?
    Is there any disadvantage on going w/ the external route aside from taking up table space?
     
  11. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #12
    Except for TB, external is slower than SATA connected disks.

    Cheers,
     
  12. gelgel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    #13
    really? What about firewire 800?
     
  13. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
  14. gelgel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
  15. gelgel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    #16
    Okay my imac finally arrived!! Yeah!
    but the thing is... it doesn't come w/ any discs..
    Doesn't it come w/ iLife or at least the Lion installation disk?
    All I got is the imac, power cord, keyboard, and the trrackpad.
    Is this right?
     
  16. Qwaf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
  17. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #18
    If you bought a 2011 with Lion installed that is correct.

    Cheers,
     

Share This Page