Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Survival

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 14, 2012
I am a designer by trade and use photoshop almost exclusively. I currently work on a g5 PowerPC 1.6 and am looking at a used MacBook Pro 2.6. I'm looking for the mobility of a laptop and more speed. Also price is important which would explain the choice for about $500 used. Will the MacBook Pro be the laptop I'm looking for or are there any other suggestions? Thanks for your time... New here.

fig

macrumors 6502a
Jun 13, 2012
Austin, TX
I am a designer by trade and use photoshop almost exclusively. I currently work on a g5 PowerPC 1.6 and am looking at a used MacBook Pro 2.6. I'm looking for the mobility of a laptop and more speed. Also price is important which would explain the choice for about $500 used. Will the MacBook Pro be the laptop I'm looking for or are there any other suggestions? Thanks for your time... New here.

Goodness you're going to see a ridiculous speed bump when you upgrade :)

I don't know what model you're referring to, there was a 2.6ghz MBP in 2006 which would certainly be faster than your current system but that seems like a pretty old machine to be spending money on for any sort of useful purpose.

I don't know what more used machines are going for but I'd think you could get something more recent in a MacBook Air or 13" MacBook Pro that would be faster overall for a similar price or maybe a hair more.

Survival

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 14, 2012
Thanks for the help. Is the Air normally equivalent to a pro that is a few years older?

fig

macrumors 6502a
Jun 13, 2012
Austin, TX
Thanks for the help. Is the Air normally equivalent to a pro that is a few years older?

The math doesn't work out that neatly unfortunately, the original Airs were rather underpowered then they turned into capable little machines with one of the updates a year or two ago.