Quick question about bootcamp!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iWalsh, Jul 11, 2009.

  1. iWalsh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #1
    I recently bought a macbook pro and need to run some windows programs for work. Is it possible to start my mac and have it go the screen where I can pick either mac or windows for it to start in?

    I know I can default to one or the other and I know I can hit the option key when starting and get it to the choice screen - I was just hoping I could start the mac and have it go to the choice screen and then I have the option of choosing which op sys I need.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
  3. iWalsh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for that. I will check it out. It is a pity there is not a simple option on the mac itself, it would be better then having to install more software.

    At least it can be done.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #4
    Just hold the option key on startup. That will give you a list, complete with HDD icons, of which partitions/disks you can startup from.
     
  5. reelbgpunk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #5
    All it takes is holding down option as you power on and you'll be able to choose which one you'd like to boot.
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Geez guys, the OP said in his original post he knew how to do that
    He wanted a different option

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     

Share This Page