Quick question about RAM capacity - Hex Mac Pro 2010

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacProFreak, Feb 19, 2013.

  1. MacProFreak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    #1
    1) Is the maximum RAM capacity of a six-core W3690 48GB?

    2) Is latency 7,7,7,20 available, or only 9,9,9,24 on 1,333 kits?

    Thanks a lot in advance.
     
  2. spoonie1972 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    i would imagine you can use 16gb chips like in the 8-slot machines.

    so, 64gb. no idea on those timings you're citing. (i got my 1333 from OWC).
     
  3. caymandrew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Location:
    All over the place
    #3
    Interesting question, subscribed to hear what those who know say. On Intel's website it says:

    http://ark.intel.com/products/52586/Intel-Xeon-Processor-W3690-12M-Cache-3_46-GHz-6_40-GTs-Intel-QPI

    Memory Specifications
    Max Memory Size (dependent on memory type) 24 GB
    Memory Types DDR3-800/1066/1333
    # of Memory Channels 3
    Max Memory Bandwidth 32 GB/s
    Physical Address Extensions 40-bit
    ECC Memory Supported Yes

    I have 32GB 1333mhz Ram in my 5,1 with an upgraded W3690, 4x 8GB Sticks. Works good, geekbench just over 16,000
     
  4. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #4
    The answer to your question is not quite straightforward as already discussed in this thread. The 48GB limit was posted on the OWC site and probably tested using the quad rank memory modules. You may (or may not) get 64GB using the dual rank modules, but so far no one has confirmed it since 16GB modules are still expensive at this point.

    The CAS latency is meaningless for MP since it is set automatically and you can't tweak it.
     
  5. sunsetsothickly macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    #5
    Dual-Rank DIMMs

    Hi guys,
    I have seen conflicting reports about the RAM limit across various threads/sites. I have 3 x 16GB Dual Rank DIMMs (Hynix) in my Hex. Because they are dual-rank, rather than quad-rank, does that mean I can add a 4th?
     
  6. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #6
    The answer is no, see post #10 and 12 of this thread.
     
  7. sunsetsothickly macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    #7
    Aha... Pity. Yep, post #12 is the key. Wonder if anyone has tried the 5xxx in a single CPU 5,1 with the extra DIMM after that thread?

    Thanks xcodeSyn.
     

Share This Page