Quick question for the people who got the new MBP!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fel10, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. fel10 macrumors 68000

    fel10

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    #1
    Quick question for the people who just the new MBP. When u put it to sleep, does it take a few seconds for the screen to go blank, or does it go instantly???
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    It takes a few seconds for any computer to sleep because it needs to save information to the drive first. How quickly that process completes is determined by how much information needs to be saved and the speed of the drive (HDD or SSD).
     
  3. TheHoff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #3
    About 1 second but I put an SSD in.
     
  4. fel10 thread starter macrumors 68000

    fel10

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    #4
    Ok. I have a SSD and 8 GB of RAM. And it takes 3-4 seconds for the screen to go blank. My old late 2009 MBP the screen would go blank instantly.
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    Even though the screen might be blank, that doesn't mean it's in sleep mode. Wait for the sleep light to begin pulsing.
     
  6. fel10 thread starter macrumors 68000

    fel10

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    #6
    Ok. So its nothing to worry about
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Not at all.
     
  8. suckatcomputers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #8
    i have the low 13" MBP. It takes a sec or two to put to sleep AND wake up.

    I had the 2010 and it was put to sleep faster and woke up faster. We're talking a second at most.

    Doesn't concern me, but did notice it. I was going to post about it too, thanks.
     
  9. fel10 thread starter macrumors 68000

    fel10

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    #9
    Good to know I'm not the only one who noticed it. Guess its an issue with the new models. Nothing that a update can't fix.
     
  10. lauph macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    30 mins from Cupertino
    #10
    Turn off hibernation.

    do this in terminal
    and then
    to remove the hibernation image to save you %your RAMsize% amount of storage in your HDD.
     
  11. fel10 thread starter macrumors 68000

    fel10

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    #11
    is that safe???
     
  12. lauph, Feb 28, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011

    lauph macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    30 mins from Cupertino
    #12
    Hibernation is for resuming your work after you totally lose power during sleep.

    If you get it to sleep, it probably isn't going to lose every drop of power. If it does, it will take days in sleep for that to happen. By then you woudn't care about the "state" it was in before sleep. Total power cut isn't going to happen during sleep either since your battery isn't removable.

    I'd say hibernation is pointless for unremovable battery-MacBooks. You get to close the lid and pick the computer up right then without worrying about shocking the HDD and you get 4GB more in HDD space. I'd say its very safe.
     
  13. fel10 thread starter macrumors 68000

    fel10

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    #13
    All right. Thanks for the info.:)
     
  14. lauph macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    30 mins from Cupertino
    #14
    enjoy :apple:
     
  15. fel10 thread starter macrumors 68000

    fel10

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    #15
    Just another quick question. If I want to undo that action, what do I have to type of Terminal??? Thanks.
     

Share This Page