Quick Question on RAM in 2.8 Ghz Quad Core

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ermoore, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. ermoore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    #1
    So I go the 27" 2.8Ghz Quad Core iMac.

    It came with the standard 4GB RAM. (2X2G)

    I know it has 4 slots in it, and is upgradeable to 16GB RAM.

    I am debating on buying 2x4G to bring my total to 12GB, and then I would have the option later to buy another 2x4G to up it to 16GB.

    My question is if I DO have 2x4 and 2x2, will my computer actually use all 12GB or will it retard the 2x4 down to 2x2 and virtually only use 8gb?

    I do a lot of video and photo editing, and I run parallels, so the more ram, the better.

    in short--
    I can't afford 4x4 right now.
    So should I get 4x2 or 2x2 to add to my factory 2x2?
     
  2. George Knighton macrumors 6502a

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #2
    I have noticed as much as 11.93 GB of my 12 GB being used in Activity Monitor.

    If that helps. :)
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    If you get two 4GB sticks, it will use all 12GB, so that's your better option.
     
  4. ermoore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    #4
    But if I am running the RAM with a 4.4.2.2 setup, do you think it will be efficiently running all 12? or will it be just as efficient as running 2.2.2.2?
     
  5. ermoore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    #5
    Getting the 2x4 now would be beneficial so if I decide to go to 16gb, I will only have to get 2x4 again. I think that's the direction I'm leaning.
     
  6. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #6
    It will not ignore the extra 4GB, even though the capacities differ, as demonstrated by the previous poster.
     
  7. mjsmke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    It will work fine. Activity monitor will tell you if there is a problem. As far as i know it is only the 8GB modules that cannot be mixxed with different sizes.

    Even mixxing speeds is fine but they will all run at the same speed as the slowest stick installed.
     
  8. ermoore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    #8
    Okay. That must have been what I was thinking -- that it will knock down to the lower speed - not the lower capacity. Thanks everyone, I have ordered the 4x2.

    Now to update my sig to my latest specs...
    :D:cool::apple:
     
  9. George Knighton macrumors 6502a

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #9
    I have 12 GB in that configuration, and the system has no trouble at all finding the memory.
     

Share This Page