Quick RAM purchasing question: Two sticks vs one?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rye9, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. rye9 macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #1
    Okay well in likely less than a week's time I'm going to be getting a new 13" MBP (the base model) and I'd like to up the RAM since I plan to get VMWare Fusion to run the original Call of Duty plus programs I'll need for college than run on Windows. (I have a copy of Vista already). So, I noticed that 2GB RAM standard is actually two 1GB sticks... and according to Crucial.com, I think it's saying to install future RAM like that? I don't know... it says matching sticks gives optimal performance. So my question is... if I buy a single 2GB piece to total me out at 4GB... would that be bad having 3 sticks (1GB + 1GB + 2GB)?
     
  2. youpey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #2
    only 2 slots, you cant have 3 chips
     
  3. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #3
    So then the base model is impossible to upgrade??
     
  4. aleksandra. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #4
    You would have to replace the original RAM.
     
  5. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #5
    No. You just have to replace the existing 2 sticks with 2 new sticks
     
  6. qpid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    #6
    2 slots = 2 sticks
    remove 1x 1gb stick and replace it with a 2gb and get 3gb, etc
     
  7. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #7
    Okay... well then say I get a 4GB kit from Crucial; then could I sell the original 2 sticks? Or what do you recommend I do with them?
     
  8. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    You could sell them, but probably won't get much for them. Or they make a nice "high tech" keychain. :p
     
  9. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #9
    I save the original RAM in case I need to send it back to Apple for repairs. There have been reports of 3rd party RAM being replaced by Apple ram.
     
  10. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #10
    You not going to get much for the Apple RAM, so it's really not worth it. Like old-wiz said, save the Apple RAM just in case you have a problem with the machine. One of the first things Apple will say (blame) is third-party RAM.

    So if you end up having a problem with the machine, first thing you can do is try the stock Apple RAM. If the problem still exists, bring it to Apple with the stock RAM in it.

    -Kevin
     

Share This Page