Quick RAM question.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Levina, Mar 9, 2013.

  1. Levina macrumors member

    Levina

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #1
    Hi all,

    I want to upgrade memory in my Mac Pro early 2009 8-core. I was thinking a triple channel configuration and wanted to buy Kingston KTA-MP1066K3/12 x 2, so I'd end up with 24 GB. But to be sure, I did a systems check on the Kingston site and this particular memory isn't on the resulting list. So now I'm in doubt. Can I use this or do I really need the -more expensive- KTA-MP1066K4/16 banks that are on the list?

    Thanks!
     
  2. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #2
    They have the same product number, just different number of sticks. Either one is fine or you could save even more by using their regular ECC DDR3 modules. It's your call.
     
  3. Tesselator, Mar 9, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013

    Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #3
  4. Levina thread starter macrumors member

    Levina

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #4
    I don't suppose you have a link to those ECC DDR3 modules? I'm really an idiot in these matters...

    Hmmm, the MP10663K/12 I mentioned is a set of 3 modules of 4GB each, totaling 12GB. So I would need two of those to get 24GB (i.e. 6 x 4GB modules).
     
  5. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    OK, if you're sure of that... Sorry for the confusion. :)

    The "12 x 2" in your initial post had me thinking otherwise. :p
     
  6. Levina thread starter macrumors member

    Levina

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #6
    Well it *is* confusing. That's why I asked for a link to those regular modules as I have no idea what those are! :eek:
    But the ones I mentioned in my OP, yes, see, after much study I came to understand that they are 3 modules of 4 GB each, which makes 12GB. So I figured times 2 makes the 24GB that I want.
    I probably should have worded it better... :D :)
     
  7. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #7
    Since you don't live in the US, the price may not mean anything but the product number should be the same. Most Kingston memory in this link should work fine with Mac Pro 2009-2012 models. For comparison, this link shows how much for Kingston memory when labeled for Mac Pro. You can use either Registered or Unbuffered memory modules, but can't mix both.
     
  8. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    Ah, I see. Yeah manufacturers and resellers almost exclusively use the format:

    ?x?GB like ( 2x8GB, or 3x4GB )

    So when I saw 12x2 I assumed 12 DIMMs of 2GB each. :D
     
  9. Levina thread starter macrumors member

    Levina

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #9
    Thanks very much, xcodeSyn. That was most helpful.
    So, I've looked at other options but prices don't differ too much here so I've decided to go with my original plan and buy the KTA-MP1066K3/12G modules.

    Thank you both for your help! As well as for the laughs... :D
     

Share This Page