Quick Silver Super Drive in Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Redneck1089, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. Redneck1089 macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #1
    I'm wondering if I can take the Super Drive out of my Power Mac G4 and put it in my mac pro. I'd like to have two dvd burners in it for the time being until Blu-Ray burners come down in price; this is why I don't want to spend the extra cash and purchase a second Super Drive for the Mac Pro.

    So, can this be done? I have a feeling there will be a size difference because to my knowledge the Quick Silver was the first Mac to have a dvd burner, and I think they were quite large back then...
     
  2. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #2
    -Redneck

    Size/shape isn't the issue with installing the Optical from a Quicksilver to a Mac Pro - the bus is. Mac Pros run SATA busses, whereas the Quicksilver is PATA. Essentially, you are dealing with a square peg, round hole issue.
     
  3. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #3
    Umm... what? The optical drive in the MP is PATA. Basically any run of the mill superdrive will fit in, and you should be able to plug it in. Yes, the HD's have SATA conectors built into the motherboard, but the optical drive still uses that good old black ATA cable.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #4
    -Lovesong

    Oh! Well then, nevermind redneck! My bad!
     
  5. Redneck1089 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #5
    Thanks for the help and the picture! Is it hard to install a second optical drive in the Mac Pro? :)
     
  6. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    Easy as pie. If your Superdrive has that sort of plastic face on the end of the tray, you're going to have to snap it off (it's designed to come off) so that it will fit through the door on the Mac Pro's case. But since it's coming from a Quicksilver it probably doesn't.

    AFAIK optical drives have remained the same physical size for a very long time now.
     
  7. CyberPrey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    IGH, MN
    #7
    ohhh, at least 15 years or so :)
     
  8. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #8

    It's fairly easy. Getting the cables tucked away is the main thing.
     
  9. Redneck1089 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #9
    Okay I removed the optical drive from the Quick Silver today. I don't need any cables or anything, right? Everything I need to hook this optical drive up is in the Mac Pro already, correct?
     
  10. Redneck1089 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
  11. aliasbdi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    #11
    I'm trying to add an additional superdrive that I purchased. How do you get the side open like in the picture above so that I can install the superdrive?
     
  12. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #12
    Instructions should have come with your Mac. If not then go here and download either of the instructions about the optical drive. Both tell you how to get the carrier out so you can put in a second drive.

    You might need the screws from the optical drive but that is it.
     

Share This Page