Quick Time Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Fishtalk, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. Fishtalk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #1
    A friend just gave me two films on the same DVD-R
    First one works fine; but the second one doesn't have any sound
    The equilizer widjit on the bottom right hand side of the screen doesn't show any movment. Both the films are .AVI The first time i tried to open the duff film I got "Q/T is missing a codec...would you like to try" or something like that ?????" but now it just opens normally but without sound.
    As I've have recently downloaded a New DiVix.. and all my other films work fine. Is it the DVD-R that has a problem, or should I download another 3rd party bit.... if so which one.
    My system is OSX 10.3.9. and My Q/T is 7.4.5
    Just had a thought... the Film without sound is a different format... (flater and wider). could that have anthing to to do with the problem ?
    thanks.
     
  2. timestoby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    north devon,uk
    #2
    are you mad?lol,have you tried vlc media player,it plays anything.
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    i think he is mad!!! hahaha

    two options...

    1. VLC VLC Link

    2. Perian (quicktime plugin) Perian Link
     
  4. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #4
    perian and flip4mac is all i use to watch avi and wmv files in quicktime. and when all else fails, vlc usually does the trick.

    edit: argh, beaten!
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    ehehehehehehehehehehehehehehehe

    thats because the film that doesnt work IS in a different format, the sound is probably in a format that is unreadable by quicktime natively. perian will hopefully fix that for you.
     
  6. Fishtalk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #6
    fishtalk

    Thanks you guys..... VCL works fine ( never thought of that)
    Persan, or what ever it, is ONLY for Tigers...or the ice weasle get's you ???
    I also have Flip4Mac but it NEVER seems to do anything very practial.
    Question:::Is Flip4Mac an application or an Ad-on ? do I have to phyically open it, or is it supposed to work when i open Q/T
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    i dont know what your on... perian works on everything after 10.4.7
     
  8. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #8
    i didn't get it either until i read the original post. his system is running panther, and perian requires tiger and later.
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    hahaha i see... wow... thats old
     
  10. Fishtalk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #10
    So am I
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    hahahahahaha fair enough, wouldnt you have enough money to upgrade though?? seeing as though your old and everything haha.. (no offense)
     
  12. Fishtalk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #12
    Nope...old and poor, and my "Old" G3 wouldn't be happy with an upgrade
     
  13. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    i hear they make VERY good media servers, that would be a nice way to go out in style.. serving your master :p
     

Share This Page