Quick Video Card Question for MDD!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by minisuds7, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. minisuds7 macrumors member

    minisuds7

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    The U.P. of Michigan
    #1
  2. Jiggly Billy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    #2
    I may be wrong here, but I don't believe that AGP Pro cards (any card that came with the G5's from the factory) don't work in non-Pro slots
     
  3. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    Quick answer: No.

    It won't even fit in regular AGP slot, not talking about ADC power connector location mismatch.
     
  4. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
  5. Jiggly Billy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    #5
    That's for regular AGP cards, AGP Pro is completely different, and AGP Pro physically won't fit in non Pro slots
     
  6. minisuds7 thread starter macrumors member

    minisuds7

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    The U.P. of Michigan
    #6
    Alright thanks for the info. So what would be a great card for this machine that would have an ADC connection? I just want something that'll be much better than the 9000 Pro that's in there :rolleyes:
     
  7. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
    If you need an ADC there are 2 cards that will work without modifications:
    Geforce Ti4600 and best of the best, and also uber-rarity 9700 Pro.

    There is a way to use 9600 with ADC and FX 5200 from G5. It requires soldering 28V cable from PSU directly to ADC power pins on G5 card. I had link to such mod somewhere, but I can't find it ATM. In case of 5200, which is AGP Pro too, it also requires dremeling (or cutting off) part of AGP connector which provides additional power to the card. Due its low power demands it works.
    http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/Graphics/FX5200_Mods_for_G4/FX5200_G4mods.html
    You can't do that with 9800 you've linked, because regular AGP slot does not provide enough power to feed 9800.
     
  8. minisuds7 thread starter macrumors member

    minisuds7

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    The U.P. of Michigan
    #8
    Yeah I saw the 9700 Pro on the Wikipedia article for PowerMac G4s and tried searching for one on eBay, but you seem to be right when you say they're über rare :( Is there any better place to look for one, should I just try for something else or wait a little bit? If I had to I'd get a card without ADC and get an adapter off of a friend of mine.
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    One thing about using ADC G5 cards in an ADC G4, the ADC part no longer works. Not only are the ADC power pins removed when modifying the card, Apple changed some of the ADC pins around to make them not compatible.
     
  10. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    Are you 100% sure? I'll try to dig out this link where someone soldered 28V to this ADC tab and it worked (as far my memory serves me well OFC). Never tried that myself, though. I got rid my ADC displays years ago.
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    I'm about 95% sure. I remember looking at the pin outs for the ADC AGP cards and noticing that there are differences between the G4 and G5 cards.
     
  12. minisuds7 thread starter macrumors member

    minisuds7

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    The U.P. of Michigan
    #12
    Not to get sidetracked, but one more quick question: can I temporarily use the stock aluminum heatsink with a 1.42 GHz dual CPU module? Until I find a copper one that is. Or is that just not advisable and should just wait for a copper one to show up on eBay or somewhere else?
     
  13. ybz90 macrumors 6502a

    ybz90

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #13
    If it mounts properly, it will dissipate heat. Whether or not it is thermally capable of acceptably low stable temps is another issue, but you can always rig fans on there.
     
  14. Dave H macrumors 6502

    Dave H

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #14
    Here's a page showing how to make the ADC on a 9600 card from a G5 work in a G4.
    Click here
     
  15. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #15
    This is another way which I've forgotten about. And read comments: ADC works. Great link Dave H!
     
  16. minisuds7 thread starter macrumors member

    minisuds7

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    The U.P. of Michigan
    #16
    How much better would a GeForce4 Ti be over my stock 9000? I see a bunch of those on eBay. I did find a 9700, but it's $150. Is it worth it? (this is my hobby computer/media server, so I don't mind throwing a little money at it :) )
     
  17. Dave H, Jan 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013

    Dave H macrumors 6502

    Dave H

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #17
    There are some benchmarks here. A Radeon 8500 is roughly equivalent to a 9000.
    A 9700 would give you hardware acceleration of CoreImage.
    The Geforce 4 and Radeon 9000 have video acceleration in OS 9.
    CoreImage acceleration and OS 9 acceleration are mutually exclusive.
     
  18. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #18
    For this price I'd buy it only if I'd have 23 Cinema HD and Cube with modded VRM ;) For any other setup I'd just buy FireGL X3, flash it and use DVI to ADC converter.
     

Share This Page