quick ZiPhone Question

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by zipper1022, Feb 17, 2008.

  1. zipper1022 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY/ Boston, MA
    #1
    i have a 1.1.2 jailbroken iphone running on an att sim card...

    it was 1.1.2 when i got it from the box i did the conceited software jailbrake with the downgrade and reupgrade to 1.1.2

    i dont know what bootloader i have...

    can i use ZiPhone?

    i dont need to "unlock" my phone, i just need to jailbrake it again... so would i then just uncheck everything except jailbrake on that menu screen?

    also, i am running OSX 10.4.11 what version of ZiPhone do i want?
     
  2. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #2
    I had a 1.0.2 OTB 1.1.3 just jailbreak and it worked. So yeah it should work just fine for ya
     
  3. dsgalit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #3
    Since you are with AT&T there's no need to use the activation procedure..
     
  4. zipper1022 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY/ Boston, MA
    #4
    what version of the Ziphone did you download, there are a bunch there and im not sure what one to use

    also, do i need to restore my phone before i start the Ziphone process? or can i just run with it right off of 1.1.2 jailbroken
     
  5. dsgalit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #5
    I used ziphone 2.3 and it came out perfect. everything working!!! You can stay at 1.1.2 if you like, but i would suggest that you do a complete restore back to 1.1.3..., that way you have all the original files in the phone. There's also a newer version of ziphone, 2.4, but there doesn't seem to be a GUI version yet, so just try 2.3 and check the jailbreak feature and nothing else..
     
  6. zipper1022 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY/ Boston, MA
    #6
    i shouldnt have any problems restoring to 1.1.3 right? i just clik restore and its done? also
    i have no idea what gui means.
     
  7. jaydp1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #7
    1.1.3 with ziphone works great. It does not matter what baseband you have. GUI means Graphical User Interface.
    Here is a quick 5 min guide to use ziphone 2.4 Link:cool:
     
  8. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #8
    I used 1.0, http://www.ziphone.org/2008/02/ziphone.html from that post. It worked great because throughout these updates, not much has changed in the jailbreaking part, mostly through different GUIs and unlocking. BTW, the only problem I had was stuff was already installed. Fixed by putting my phone into restore mode, restoring, then doing it again, its been fine since.
     
  9. zipper1022 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY/ Boston, MA
    #9
    here is my final question

    i have gathered that i will have three options when i open this ziphone program

    unlock
    activate
    jailbrake

    if i use att and want to stay with it i just check jailbrake correct?

    i dont want to **** up my cell service... i just want 3rd party apps...
     
  10. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    That's right.

    Unlocking won't mess up your cell service, but it introduces additional changes that you don't need and there's a small chance they will cause difficulties upgrading in the future.
     
  11. zipper1022 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY/ Boston, MA
    #11
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    why dont i have any service!?!??!?!

    i just clicked jailbrake when i used ziphone and now i have no service!!!
    what did i do!?!??!?!??!


    EDIT

    my service came on after about 2 minutes, but NOW im looking at ziphone and it said

    ERROR ziphone 1

    in red letters
    but everythign apperas to be fine onthe phone...
     
  12. dsgalit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #12
    which version of ziphone did you use? BTW is everything still working alright on your phone? Let me know k.
     
  13. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #13
    The best results come from Restoring to 1.1.3 when prompted to Setup New iPhone or Previous Backup Select 'New iPhone' and give it a name.

    Then Close iTunes > Open ZiPhone 2.3 > Check Verbose and Jailbreak ONLY
     

Share This Page