Resolved Quicksilver keeps starting by itself

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Possumgal, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. Possumgal macrumors member

    Possumgal

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Location:
    N. Central Arkansas
    #1
    I came here because I've been lurking for years, and know how expert you guys are at PowerPCs.

    I have a 2002 Quicksilver, 933 processor, all stock except for RAM I upgraded when I got it from DV Warehouse several years ago. I keep it turned off unless I'm using it, but lately it has taken to starting by itself randomly. This morning it was asleep, then woke up and went right back to sleep over and over. I barely had time to get to the shutdown command, but it wouldn't shut down, so I unplugged it.

    I tried resetting PRAM previously, I've never had it set to restart after power outages, not connected to a network. No new hardware in years, no new software except TenFourFox two years ago. It's had the same modem as long as I've had it, nothing new connected to it for several years. It's working now so far after a safe boot. What possessed my workhorse?
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Do you do any regular system maintenance? Is your hard drive full or close to it? Any issues with the hard drive lately?

    I ask because our systems are only getting older and if you still have the stock hard drive it's possible that either drive corruption or failure may be starting - although that's just the first thing that leaps to my mind. Well, the second. See below.

    I know you said the Mac is not on a network, but you wouldn't by some accident have file sharing on would you?

    Earlier this year I had file sharing set up and some of my drive names changed. This caused my Mac to constantly wake the screen until I finally figured it out. However, it wasn't rebooting by itself.
     
  3. Possumgal thread starter macrumors member

    Possumgal

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Location:
    N. Central Arkansas
    #3
    1. I run Onyx on it once a month. No hard drive problems, but I do have an external backup and a spare newish drive someplace if it comes to that. The hard drive is only 2/3 full. I don't know if it's the original or if the reseller replaced it. I've never had file sharing on. I forgot, it's running Tiger.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Well, I can't really explain that then. As long as it's running alright now though. Glitches happen, perhaps that's the case here.
     
  5. Possumgal thread starter macrumors member

    Possumgal

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Location:
    N. Central Arkansas
    #5
    Boy, I hope so. I consider you the Quicksilver expert, so if you haven't heard of this.... :>
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    Well, I can't say I've experienced this on any Mac I've owned or used. My next guess would be something to do with the PSU, but this 'expert' doesn't know enough about PSU issues to say much about that.
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    I would just go ahead and run a permissions repair in Disk Utility to rule out anything simple along those lines. Power supply fluctuations can indeed cause these symptoms, but generally they are more apparent when running and working hard rather than sleeping.
     
  8. catzilla macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
  9. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #9
    Could also try re-seating various connectors. Like the power button cable on the logic board.
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    I agree fully especially if it is a third party keyboard!
     
  11. Possumgal thread starter macrumors member

    Possumgal

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Location:
    N. Central Arkansas
    #11
    It's an Apple keyboard I got maybe five months ago. I can try to get another, but it will be awhile.

    About two hours after I shut it down yesterday, it started up again. I did a backup, ran Disk Utility from the CD (checked out OK) then shut it down, then it started up again later and went into a loop. I had to unplug it again.

    I've ordered a new battery from OWC because if it was low before, it's dead now. If nothing else, I've got an MDD dual 1.25 in bubble wrap I bought from my workplace a few years ago. I'll let you know how things go in case anybody else should encounter this.

    Thanks for all your help. I didn't know if was hardware or corrupted software.
     
  12. val1984 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #12
    In System Preferences > Energy Saver, is the "Start up after power failure" checkbox active?
    If yes, I think that might be why your Quicksilver boots by itself sometimes if your electricity is a little bit flaky.
     
  13. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    ctmpkmlec4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #13
    To that end, is it possible that the power supply itself is flaky? I had a QS power supply in a DA model that was doing the same thing. I found a replacement DA power supply and the issue has gone away. I should clarify that I would shut down my particular Mac overnight, and when I would go into my office in the morning, it would be powered-on. It doesn't make sense to me turning off the power failure feature would have anything to do with the machine powering itself up after specifically being told to shut down.
     
  14. Possumgal thread starter macrumors member

    Possumgal

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Location:
    N. Central Arkansas
    #14
    No, I don't have the power failure button checked.

    Saturday when I started it up, it started cycling through the sleep/wake up thing a couple of times, then stayed on. The studio display power button started blinking constantly, not in a long-short pattern, just short blinks. The battery is dead, and I have another on order.

    I did unplug and replug the monitor, and noticed the graphics card was loose, so I reseated it and found a screw was missing, which I replaced. No dust inside.

    I'm not comfortable replacing things like power supplies, so if that's it, it will be time to get the MDD out of mothballs. I've kept in on ice because of little faith in MDD power supplies, but when that's all you've got..
     
  15. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    ctmpkmlec4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #15
    Sounds like you may be on to something with the video card and studio display. Perhaps the loose connection was causing the issue. Can you try another display to see if the issue goes away?
     
  16. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #16
    Maybe the PSU is having trouble supplying power to the ADC line, or the monitor is turning on the computer somehow? Does ADC have a separate USB line for telling the computer brightness, power, etc?
     
  17. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #17
    Assuming for the moment that it is the PSU. There's no need to be uncomfortable about it. I own a QS (as you know) and getting the PSU out is as easy as being able to use a Phillips head screwdriver. Literally, all you have to do is unturn a few screws that connect the optical drive, case fan and PSU itself.

    Then it's just a matter of putting it all back with the new PSU.

    There is nothing tricky involved, no special bolts or screws or fasteners. Slow and steady and you'd be fine.

    If electricity is the worry, well, you disharge the PSU first (after unplugging it) and as you won't be opening the PSU there is no danger. It's only if you open the PSU that you need to be careful.
     
  18. Possumgal thread starter macrumors member

    Possumgal

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Location:
    N. Central Arkansas
    #18
    I've got another Studio Display with a broken prop in the back. I'll try that when the battery comes in. Don't want to aggravate the poor thing too much.

    I also disabled startup from the power button on the Studio Display. Perhaps something went wrong with that button (I always used it to start) and this will help, although I never had it set to sleep with the power button. Oh, well, try everything.

    If nothing else, I'm sure a QS power supply costs much less than one for an MDD. :>
     
  19. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #19
    Hmm. Weren't those buttons light based? Much like the cubes?
     
  20. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #20
    Will it stay turned on if you want? The problem is just keeping it off, right?
     
  21. Possumgal thread starter macrumors member

    Possumgal

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Location:
    N. Central Arkansas
    #21
    Well, I finally got it solved. The new battery came yesterday, and that did the trick. It started up fine and never came back on after I shut it down. Go figure. I also got a new battery for the MDD, so now that I'm no longer in panic mode I think I'll get the MDD out of mothballs and save the QS for a backup. It's earned a rest. Besides, I've recently gotten some regular paying work to do at home, so I could use a little extra umph.

    Thanks for everybody's help.
     
  22. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    ctmpkmlec4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #22
    I learned something new today. Thanks for letting us know what your solution was.
     
  23. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #23
    Was the MDD ever used at work or was it a surplus extra purchase?
     
  24. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #24
    Thanks for letting us know; glad you got it going again!
     
  25. mzs.112000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #25
    If your computer is starting by itself, it is probably a Decepticon.
    You need the Autobots to stop it.
     

Share This Page