QuickTake 100 to Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by Ih8reno, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
  2. tdiaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #2
    The deal is:

    The QuickTake requires the driver / application to extract the photos.

    That stuff is for MacOS.

    Classic is not supported on any Intel Mac, officially.

    You'll need to use Sheep Shaver or Basilisk II.
    http://sheepshaver.cebix.net/
    http://basilisk.cebix.net/

    Classic with serial port support, using a Keyspan USA-28 series adapter -may- work, using one of the emulators.

    http://www.amazon.com/Keyspan-Tripp-USA-28XG-Serial-Adapter/dp/B000FX61MS

    ..and then you can get the photos off the camera, on the Macbook Pro.

    Seems like a lot of hassle .. ;) None the less, challenging just for the heck of it. :)
     
  3. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #3
    I also have a few older machines that I could use it with as well. One of them is a beige apple powermac 6500, would that make the connection and download of the files easier and perhaps less expensive?
     
  4. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #4
    Much easier, yes.

    The other thing to remember is that the image files are a proprietary format requiring the "Quicktake Image" extension to view or even convert them. (this comes with the original Quicktake software).

    You'll need to convert the images using something like Graphic Converter in OS9 in order to view the images on any other system.
     
  5. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #5
    Sounds good so far. Would you know the name of the cable I would need? Want to see if I can find it locally or online. The camera works, flash works it all seems perfect and I'm really curious about using it.
     
  6. mkjj macrumors 6502a

    mkjj

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Liverpool
  7. WMD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #7
    SheepShaver does not support USB or serial ports, so that's out. I'm not sure if Basilisk II does. If it does, hopefully the QuickTake software supports 68k, because that's all Basilisk II emulates.

    If you indeed have a Power Mac 6500, I would skip right to that. Far less trouble.
     
  8. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  9. tdiaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #9
    Basilisk II says "serial" is supported. I've got to figure that means mapping a USB device. Otherwise, at least on OS X, you're not going to get much else.

    Using the 6500 is the better way to go, and then convert the files to something usable from there.
     
  10. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  11. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #11
    Yes, that's Mini Din 8 pin to Mini Din 8 pin that you'll need.

    I can't find a reference to the Mac cable, only the Windows cable, however, it's apparent that a standard MiniDin8 to MiniDin8 male to male cable will do the trick on your 6500
     
  12. tdiaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #12
    It's the one labeled "System 8 Cable", the same one for Mac / IIgs to ImageWriter II.

    Don't get one that says "Straight", or "switch box", that will just give you a headache.
     
  13. MacTech68, Feb 12, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2014

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #13
    That makes it a "590-0552". That number is embossed on the molded connector's housing on an original Apple cable.

    Also finished goods P/N M0197
     

Share This Page