QuickTake 150 and OS 9

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by tevion5, Dec 24, 2014.

  1. tevion5, Dec 24, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2014

    tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    I recently acquired a QuickTake 150 and have taken a few pictures with the device.

    However, so far I have been unable to transfer any pictures from it to my Power Macintosh 8600 running OS 9.2.

    At first when trying to install the 4 software disks it complained that there was a more modern PowerPlug extension already present and could not continue, so I disbaled this.

    Then after installing very slowly, my computer now says that the QuickTime MPEG extension is missing.

    Finally, I tried to start up the PhotoFlash program (which I believe imports the pictures off the camera) but it just crashed the whole system upon showing the splash screen.

    The camera detects that it is connected with the spiralling emblem appearing in the small display.

    I hear of mixed report of Quicktake success with OS 9.

    Can anybody help me hear? I would really like this to work.

    (Side note: any chance this software will work on a PowerBook 140 or Classic II, both running OS 7.1?)
     
  2. tevion5 thread starter macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Update: It works in my Classic II, but you would not believe how long it takes.

    I'm am trying to get system 7.1 on my new PowerBook 140 and see how it fairs. It is luckily kitted out with 8MB Ram and an 80MB HD.
     
  3. MacTech68, Dec 25, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2014

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #3
    It seems the Quicktime PowerPlug is only 68K on the install disks and you'd need to put the newer version back after an install.

    There may be other system extensions that get replaced by older versions.

    You could use TomeViewer to examine the contents of the install tome files to see what components get installed.

    Also, you might try installing Quicktime 6.0.3 over your OS9 (the last version for Classic OS) to re-update any Quicktime extensions that were 'downgraded'.

    You can still get it here:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL510

    EDIT: <NOTE> THIS APPLIES TO OS9 -- GAH - I think this is one installer that blindly installs "ObjectSupportLIB" extension. Disable it or remove it. IIRC it's built into the System suitcase in OS8 and later and can cause problems if installed. You should also disable/delete Macintosh "Drag and Drop" v1.1 AND "Dragging Enabler".

    Secondly, this installer also has ColorSync v2.0.1, Shared Library Manager v2.0.1, and Quicktime 2.1.

    By Contrast, OS9.1 had ColorSync 3.0.1, Shared Library Manager v2.0.2, Quicktime 4.1.2

    You could try installing whatever was the last update for your version of OS9. So, if you're running 9.1, re-install the 9.1 Update.
     
  4. tevion5, Dec 26, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2014

    tevion5 thread starter macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Success of a Kind

    I managed to install system 7.1 on my PowerBook 140 without the use of an external drive or a working floppy drive. Amazingly a virtual disk hosted over a LocalTalk network works perfectly surprisingly.

    I installed the PhotoFlash software on that and it had no problem importing all the pictures from the QuickTake 150. I then sent the PICT images to my 8600 over LocalTalk and converted them all to JPEG.

    Here are some of the pictures I took christmas day:

    image1.jpeg image2.jpeg image3.jpeg image4.jpeg image5.jpeg

    (I did put back the newer versions of those extensions and the stratup errors disappeared :) although Mac OS 9 still won't launch PhotoFlash without crashing.)
     
  5. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #5
    Nice pics.

    OK, one last attempt. If you have a "Quicktime Jpeg" or "Quictime Jpeg Update" extension, try disabling it and restarting. Also, get info on the PhotoFlash application and give it more minimum and maximum memory.
     

Share This Page