QuickTime 7

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by learnguitartune, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. learnguitartune macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    #1
    Hi all,

    Before installing the new operating system OS X, my free QuickTime version already installed on my MAC would allow me to Screen Record.

    However, since updating to OS X, QT is now QuickTime 7, and to screen record it says I NOW have to upgrade to PRO, paying $30.

    Why are Apple now forcing me to pay for something that was once free??

    Can someone please help as I want to screen record and not have to pay for it, and I want it to easily upload my screen records to iMovie just like I used to.

    Thanks

    Jack
     
  2. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #2
    if you were recording in QT7 prior to updating, you HAD QT7 pro...which should have carried over (it has for me, over several updated os x's).

    genius bar? or call apple? if you had pro, you should be able to put in a username/password and have it again...
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    You can screen record with the new QT if you want.

    [​IMG]

    Each time I have migrated I have had to reenter my QT7 serial number and sounds like that's what you need to do.
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    The OP is updating his OS, not migrating to a new computer. If he updates his OS, then his QT Pro serial number should remain in place. It did for me.
     
  5. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #5
    i am sure i had to re-enter it at one point (not sure which upgraded OS). either way, if he HAS that info, he can try entering it again...
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    From his comment that he had Pro before and does not now, it sounded to me like he did more than just "upgrade" the OS. Regardless, I offered two ways to accomplish the goal.
     

Share This Page