Quicktime Full Screen in Second Monitor

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Mascots, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. Mascots macrumors 65816

    Mascots

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #1
    This is just a quick question:

    I have two monitor set up (my Macbook Pro is attached to a Cinema Display) and I often watch full screen videos or movies in the second monitor while using the primary monitor to work. However, in Lion, full screening Quicktime causes it to shift to a new Space and assigns QT to the primary desktop. Is this a limitation that was looked over with Mission Control and Quicktime or is there a way to prevent this behavior? Thanks guys:)

    Just my 2 cents on MC while I'm here: While I love Mission Control and it takes better advantage of gestures and Spaces (and works especially well on laptops), I do miss the grid. I think Apple really neglected support for full screen apps on Mission Control in multiple monitor set ups, though, too. What do you guys think about it?
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    I have the same question as I too like to watch full screen on my secondary monitor as I work on my primary. Wasn't able to figure it out so I will be staying on top of this thread

    One thing I noticed is how come QT no longer has preferences?
     
  3. Mascots thread starter macrumors 65816

    Mascots

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #3
    I noticed this, too!
    I was trying to open it with CMD+, before I finally realized it wasn't working and then saw it was gone when I attempted to open it through the Menubar. I guess there weren't any (or enough) preferences to made a dialog.
     
  4. WSR macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #4
    This is 1 of the 3 main reasons I'm still using Snow Leopard.

    From what I've read, there's no fix. Lion's version of Full-screen puts the app in its own space without a desktop behind it. The only time you can use the second monitor is if the app opens a second window which can be dragged onto the second monitor. There is video on YouTube showing this with ITunes, but I can't find the URL in my history.

    Note while I was creating this reply, I was watching a video in my second monitors, but I'm still with SL.
     
  5. Mascots thread starter macrumors 65816

    Mascots

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #5
    That's what I thought. Oh well
    It's not that much of a tradeoff to resize the QT window by hand to maximize the height or width for everything else Lion brings, I just enjoyed the cinema blackout of the other screen and being lazy.
     
  6. Yuusharo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #6
    I have a feeling full screen mode will get some tweaks in the next update primarily to fix the multiple-monitor situation. An app that goes full screen should stay on the screen it was resized from. It should also allow you to work on a desktop or separate app on the other monitor, so you don't disable it. The current implementation is broken.

    That said, a temporary workaround is to use an alternative player on the other monitor. VLC works well for that. Another way would be to use full screen quick-look from the Finder, but unfortunately it breaks if you click on another Finder window or your desktop.
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7
    I ran into the same issue when using VLC. Maybe I am doing it wrong?
     
  8. Mascots, Aug 10, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2011

    Mascots thread starter macrumors 65816

    Mascots

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #8
    The "Spaces" concept has always been (kind of) broken with multiple monitors or it just looks weird.

    My opinion to fix it would have each monitor count as a Space that's manually rearrangable so you can rearrange Desktops and Full Screen apps in any way you want (and have a minimum of two spaces at once). It'd be kind of weird with displays of different sizes, but could translate and be natural if implemented correctly.
     
  9. Yuusharo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #9
    Sadly I don't regularly use two monitors. I just assumed that since VLC isn't using the Lion full screen api, it would simply go full screen on top of the desktop you're in and it would work. Apparently that's not the case?

    I'll hook up my Air to my monitor when I get home and play around with it.
     
  10. felixgun macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    #10
    I tried unchecking the box in VLC and it still doesn't work :/ When I full screen my 2nd monitor for a movie it blacks out my macbook screen so I can't work on it... so agg.
     

Share This Page