quicktime motion jpeg

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by anp12, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. anp12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #1
    I'm using quicktime pro 7
    I'd like to be able to export videos as motion jpeg. This works fine on my computer in which I have installed the software that came with my canon camera. However, I no longer have that installation cd, and want to be able to do it on a different computer.

    how can I get an mjpeg codec? I tried clicking "show legacy encoders" in quicktime's preferences, advanced tabs. nothing happened.

    thanks,

    -a
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    I don't have a Canon digicam, but I do have support for Motion JPEG-based .avi video files. I have many codecs installed. I have no idea which one supports Motion JPEG. Install Perian to see if it does the trick for you.
     
  3. anp12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #3
    cont

    thanks, but that didn't seem to work. I installed perian, but there is still no option under export for motion jpeg.
     
  4. jackerin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Quicktime's standard AVI encoder is pretty limited in the video codecs it supports, but you could set it to export to Quicktime movie, compressor as Motion Jpeg (don't know the difference between A and B), then export that file using the Save as AVI component (comes with MPEG Streamclip).
     
  5. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Oh. I didn't read your OP clearly. You want to export Motion JPEG? Why?
     
  6. anp12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #6
    mjpeg cont

    the why is because that format is giving me the least problems with the video analysis I'm doing. I have to go frame by frame, and for some reason the motion jpeg is better. wish it wasn't ...

    so, I have it working on the computer in which my camera software is installed. as I said I can't reinstall the software because I no longer have the cd. but is there a way to simply copy the codec from computer to computer? where are they stored anyway?
    thanks

    -a
     
  7. jackerin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    If you're interested, the reason is that with MJPEG each frame is separately compressed. With newer/MPEG-4 based codecs like H.264, frames are often dependant on the preceding frames to build the image, so there is always extra processor power needed when stepping backwards.

    Mine are in Library/Quicktime, the components being CanonMJPEGAVI.component, CanonMJPEGAVIDec.component and CanonText.component.
     
  8. anp12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #8
    YES! Thank you. I copied those files to my other computer and it worked, no problems. And thanks for the explanation about mjpegs. I thought at much, but am not so familiar with how all the different formats work. I guess that also explains why mjpeg movie files are so much larger than other formats, and why most people have no use for them.
     

Share This Page