Quicktime Pro Wont Export -- Just hangs.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jersey, Feb 12, 2008.

  1. jersey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #1
    Hello All,

    I've been having problems with QT Pro since Leopard. It has never worked right. I have yet to be able to export anything, and every time I try, the program simply hangs. Anyone else experiencing this?

    I've done a fresh install of the os, tried the pacifist trick, re-updated QT, but nothing seems to work.

    I'm on a BlackBook 2gz,2g.ram, blah blah blah.


    Its such a problem I've set up an external drive with 10.4 to boot into when I need to use QT Pro (I know, dont update the production machine...)
     
  2. thesdx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #2
    Yep, it does that for me too. I can't figure out why.
     
  3. jersey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #3
    At first I thought it to be a rouge codec, like flip4mac or something similar, but it isnt. It does seem to be a pretty common issue, but Apple has yet to address it formally.

    The booting into Tiger is getting pretty old.
     
  4. BullBoyKennels macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    Mayaguez, PR
    #4
    Was these before or after the recent updates to Leopard. I ask cause I have not had that issue and I'm able to export using QT Pro & I have QT MPEG-2, Flip4Mac plugin.
     
  5. jersey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #5
    Before. It was from day 1 with Leopard. I even did a reinstall not too long ago, hoping it would fix the situation, but it didnt.

    I know plenty of people with all of those additional codec and plugins, and they dont have any problems. Yet, there are plenty of reports of people w/o them, and they have all kinds of problems.
     
  6. BullBoyKennels macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    Mayaguez, PR
    #6
    Oh I'm sorry I do remember a while back,. I had installed MPEG Streamclip and that caused me to have issues with playing back MPEG movies regardless of what player I used. Some files would play but never had any audio to them. So I had to remove that app.
     
  7. jersey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #7
    I too had Mpeg Streamclip, which is an awesome app btw, and removed it but still no joy.

    I also noticed I cant export as a movie from Keynote. Obviously this is because it relies on QT Pro.
     
  8. BullBoyKennels macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    Mayaguez, PR
    #8
    Hmm the only other thing I can think of would be to delete the Preferences files for Quicktime *Note you may need to input your serial number back in for QT Pro also sometime's running Permissions may help. Unless someone else has any other ideas as to what maybe causing this.
     
  9. nicknack65 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #9
    Quicktime hangs on export

    Have read all comments and tried all suggestions. Surely Apple have had enough cases to right the problem with a patch or a workaround.

    It hangs so badly it doesn't give any option to report it as a bug.

    Really need some Quicktime expert to enlighten me (us all)

    G5 Dual 2.5Ghz running 10.4.11
     
  10. jersey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #10

    So this isnt just an intel issue. Thought it was. I did notice a lot of the same issue on the Apple boards. Fix it already. Damn.

    I find it funny that if I boot off of an external fw into 10.4.10, it runs fine. Actually, its not funny at all, its a pain.
     
  11. jornostikos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #11
    Still hanging...almost a year later

    So why does QT Pro still hang...

    Should have worked this out by now or what Apple...
    :mad:
     

Share This Page