Quicktime pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rantingrich, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. rantingrich macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #1
    I just got my new macpro loaded with Mountain lion OS 10.8... is not quicktime pro come along with any longer? Can you get it?

    Also I wish to make a separate start up disk/thumbdrive. People on here have explained that can simplly go to apple/store and download their installer again then blah blah blah...

    I can not find any area on apple where I can download the 10.8 installer....with out first buying it

    Do I have to actually BUY the OS, I guess AGAIN? then I can download it when i want? :mad:
     
  2. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #2
    QuickTime X replaced QuickTime 7 in Snow Leopard. There is no "pro" upgrade for QuickTime X.
     
  3. peabo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    However, you can still run Quicktime 7 Pro in ML with all the pro features that are missing from X.
     
  4. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #4
    I am running Quicktime Pro with ML. It is still available through the Apple Store under Mac Software.
     
  5. rantingrich thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #5
    Paid


    Well I paid for it years ago and would like to register QTP on my ML But it wont let me
     
  6. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #6
    Mine stayed registered when I upgraded. You can try this. Open your QuickTime Player 7, Click on QuickTime Player 7 in the menu bar and under Registration try putting your Registration code in again. That is if you still have it. Hopefully that will work, if not I am not quite sure what you can do.
     
  7. rantingrich thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #7
    Stupid me

    I juts got QT 7 up and running BUT! I seem to recall on older OS you could got to your QT prefs and hit registration and it would have your name and ser# NUMBER there. SO I was gunna do that, and went over to my old g-4 OS 10.4 and that information is not there anymore!

    Other than buying another license for 30-40 what can you do?
     
  8. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #8
    Sorry. Nothing further I can help you with. The only way to view your Registration Code is if it is already entered or you have it on hand to fill in. Only place to put or view your Registration Code is to Open your QuickTime Player 7, Click on QuickTime Player 7 in the menu bar and go to Registration. At which point a new screen will open with your info. I've had QT for several years and this is the only way I have ever known to do it. Only other option is try calling Apple and playing nice with them.
     
  9. rantingrich thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #9
    Kill

    urge to kill groooooowing!
     
  10. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #10
    Gotcha! But laugh it off, always seems to be better therapy for me. It's probably not your first rodeo and certainly not mine. Have cost myself some time and money over the years with silly little mistakes but that is how we learn. Anyway, Good Luck!
     
  11. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #11
    Here are a couple of screen shots so you know what you should see.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. rantingrich thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #12
    Yea yea yea

    We get that! THERES nothing on mine and ALSO nothing on my OLD MACS! Use to could open QTP and hit register and it would show your info! Not anymore! O bought QTP like 10 years ago and it always transferred to what ever new machine i got.. Not anymore
     
  13. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #13
    No lecture here. Been there myself and know the frustration. I now print out and keep a complete list of all my serial #'s and registration codes no matter how far back they go. People still like to buy the old programs as there are many old computers out there and with out the numbers you may as well throw it away. Try calling Apple and being real nice, you might be surprised by them.
     
  14. peabo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #14
    You could always try contacting Apple as they will likely have your SN stored somewhere.
     
  15. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #15
    Just an idea:
    If you have something like a backup or another machine where QTP is running, connect it to your MP and drag/drop it into your appications folder? It will certrainly ask you for a registration code, and perhaps you can enter it directly in that window.
     
  16. rantingrich thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #16
    Next

    Yea thats my next thing to do! Drag out my old g-1 still running OS9 and see if the numbers there! Poor old girl! :) AH the memories!
     
  17. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #17
    Just keep in mind QT Pro is not optimized for the Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page