quicktime..sound no video...sometimes (argh!!)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mrsollars, Jul 17, 2007.

  1. mrsollars macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #1
    i'm using quicktime....i'm getting sound and no video.
    in safari.
    most often it's ''.mpg'' files

    example
    any of these movies.
    http://home.messiah.edu/~barrett/mpg/mpg.html

    example 2
    it acts like it's going to start to play, but i get a faded 'Q' logo with a question mark in front of it.
    (like on macrumors home page)


    help.
    matt
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  3. mrsollars thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
  4. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  5. mrsollars thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #5
    works in firefox.....but i don't want to use it.

    i would like to use safari. it just started doing it. don't know why
     
  6. mrsollars thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #6
    fixed....with issues.

    when i uncheck ''pop-up blocker'' in safari menu.......i get sound and video.
    if i have ''pop-up blocker'' checked in safari menu......i get only sound.

    my settings are identical to a friend's mbp for safari, flip4mac, and quicktime, but he can play it with ''pop-up blocker'' checked in safari menu.....with sound and video...no problems.

    explain this to me please.

    thanks guys.
    matt
     
  7. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    Is one of you using the Safari 3 beta and the other using Safari 2?
     
  8. mrsollars thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
  9. mrsollars thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #9
    uninstalled beta 3 .....still have the problem.

    help???
     
  10. numediaman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago (by way of SF)
    #10
    I didn't have any problems, but my suggestion is that you simply right-click them to save to your desktop then open in QT or whatever program you want.

    Sometimes video files don't load properly, whether they are Flash or qt and so it is better to simply save to disk so that they play smoothly.

    One piece of advice, though, is to make sure you have bought QTPro -- well worth the price.
     
  11. mrsollars thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #11
    i have qtpro......no help
    i just don't get why it went from fine one moment to this the next.
    matt
     

Share This Page