Quicktime with white screen while playing avi

Discussion in 'macOS' started by chihiro, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. chihiro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #1
    Quicktime v 10.0 118 with white screen while playing avi files.
    How can i fix that problem please?
    i have installed pertain but it didn't helped...

    thank you
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Analyse the .avi file with VideoSpec (I prefer that, though it hasn't been updated since 11/2009), MediaInfo Mac (10/2010) or MediaInfo (10/2010, there is a Mac OS X version to download, VideoSpec and MediaInfo Mac are using the same library as MediaInfo) and report back.
    What about playing .avi files via Movist or VLC Player?
     
  3. chihiro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #3
    the report for 2 films.


    - Size: 1.45 GB
    - Duration: 1h 45mn
    - Bitrate: 1 838 Kbps

    *** Video Track Parameters ***
    - Format: MPEG-4 XviD video
    - Bitrate: Max.: Undefined / Average: 1 695 Kbps / Min.: Undefined
    - Frame rate (fps): Max.: Undefined / Average: 25.000 / Min.: Undefined
    - Encoding profile: Simple@L3
    - Width (Pixel number): 720*400
    - Pixel Aspect Ratio: 80:81
    - Display Aspect Ratio: 16:9
    - Interlacing: Progressive

    *** First Audio Track Parameters ***
    - Format: Mpeg-1 layer 3 (mp3)
    - Bitrate: 128 Kbps
    - Resolution: Undefined
    - Profile: Layer 3
    - Channel(s): 2 (stereo)
    - Position: Undefined

    *** Miscellaneous ***
    - Subtitle(s): No Subtitle
    - Album: Undefined
    - Performer: Undefined
    - Genre: Undefined
    - Encoded date: Undefined
    - Album artist: Undefined


    --------------------


    Container: AVI - Audio Video Interleaved
    - Size: 738.2 MB
    - Duration: 1h 35mn
    - Bitrate: 1 033 Kbps

    *** Video Track Parameters ***
    - Format: MPEG-4 XviD video
    - Bitrate: Max.: Undefined / Average: 892 Kbps / Min.: Undefined
    - Frame rate (fps): Max.: Undefined / Average: 23.976 / Min.: Undefined
    - Encoding profile: Simple@L3
    - Width (Pixel number): 512*384
    - Pixel Aspect Ratio: 1:1
    - Display Aspect Ratio: 4:3
    - Interlacing: Progressive

    *** First Audio Track Parameters ***
    - Format: Mpeg-1 layer 3 (mp3)
    - Bitrate: 128 Kbps
    - Resolution: Undefined
    - Profile: Layer 3
    - Channel(s): 2 (stereo)
    - Position: Undefined

    *** Miscellaneous ***
    - Subtitle(s): No Subtitle
    - Album: Undefined
    - Performer: Undefined
    - Genre: Undefined
    - Encoded date: Undefined
    - Album artist: Undefined
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Looks okay, but I don't use QT Player to play most of my media.
    I use Movist, which has a much better handling of video files.
     
  5. chihiro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #5
    so how can i fix my QT player?showld i add any codec or something?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    You could try installing the Divx codec, if you insist on using QT Player.
     
  7. chihiro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
  8. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Movist uses the QuickTime frameworks [and FFmpeg]. So, yes, you are using the part of QuickTime that matters. I agree with the recommendation to install DivX. I also strongly recommend that he install the Perian and Flip4Mac codecs.
     

Share This Page