Radeon 5770 for pc working in mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Enny5, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. Enny5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #1
    Hi guy i just got my self Radeon 5770 hd pc version video card i just plug it in to my mac 2009 4.1(osx snow leopard 10.6.8) and without flashing the card it just come on works like a charm with 2 monitors. But i have some questions. In my graphic display info on top it say chip set model ati radeon hd 5000 why 5000 why not 5770 like it say on the card? my primary monitor say dvi and my secondary say digital is there deference here should both say digital? And my mac now restarts faster with 5770 then NVIDIA GeForce GT 120. In 3 seconds it restarts other thing is that apple spinning thingy don't who up as it boots but who cares i just saved me 269 bucks. And what can i do with ths NVIDIA GeForce GT 120?

    Thanks
     
  2. Phrygian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    #2
    i suggest you test it using steam, netflicks and your dvd player.
    Also, do you get a boot screen when you load?
     
  3. Enny5 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #3
    dvd is not working bu i was just watching lord of the ring blue ray file and its awesome i use this machine only for editing and like final cut and after effects nothing more so i really don't care about games.
     
  4. m0squito macrumors member

    m0squito

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #4
    Same issue here

    I got the same issue. My 5770 shows up as HD 5000.
    It seem to work quite all right. But i recently noticed, when working with Lightroom - the display hooked up on my old Nvidia 7300-card updates faster than the Ati-card. Something is not quite right with my drivers i think. The Ati is on slot 1 @ x16, btw.

    DVD-player crashing (as well as Zeus 2.8) and I failed to create a EFI rom for this card as well.


    Any one know if there's a way to get the card up to speed?
     
  5. fullstop102 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #5
    Mac Pro 1,1

    I got my 5770 in my mac pro, but cannot see the boot up screen at the beginning which is a real pain.

    Everything else seems to work fine, and it lets me run Final Cut X and photoshop a lot faster than before. The processing is fantastic.

    Mine also shows as a 5000 though.

    Anyone know if the boot up thing will resolve or is this going to be a permanent fault?
     
  6. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #6
    To get boot screens you have to flash the card to add an EFI boot. I suggest you do a search for flashing EFI
     
  7. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    SOme caveats:

    1. Boot screen will be on DVI port but needs to be connected to a VGA display through a DVI to VGA adapter. Only way to see boot screens on flashed cards.

    2. Depending on OS versions, you will either be able to run 2 displays or 3.

    3. On the GOOD news side, it will fix the "Radeon 5000" thing and know what card it is.

    Thank Netkas, he is solely responsible for any and all flashed 5770s. Apple "locked" the EFI to only work on their cards, Netkas fixed it.
     
  8. fullstop102 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #8
    Ah fantastic. I flashed my Nvidia cards to work on mac so know pretty much what I am doing there. The reason I didn't do it is that people on forums said there was no reason anymore as they were just supported now.

    Also I am using two DVI inputs so may put in a dsub and see if it works at boot anyway. If not I will have to flash it. Thankyou so much for your help all.
     

Share This Page