Radeon 7850 drivers for 10.8.3?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lobrien, Mar 14, 2013.

  1. lobrien macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #1
    I have a Sapphire HD 7850 that I'd love to put into my early-2008 Mac Pro (my 3870 runs hot driving my 2560x1440 monitor). I'd heard that there were Radeon 78** drivers in 10.8.3, but I'm not having any luck with "plug-and-pray."

    I plugged in the card, and it shows up as a "GPU" in the System Report, but doesn't load any drivers.

    Any advice?
     
  2. scottrichardson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Ulladulla, NSW Australia
    #2
    Is it actually working? i.e can you plug screens into it?
     
  3. lobrien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #3
    No, it's not working.

    No. The only way that I can see it as a GPU is if I hook up a screen to my old card (that is, have 2 graphics cards plugged in). If I plug directly into it, I just get a black screen.
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    hmm, bad luck i'd say.

    do you have power plugged in?

    I can verify that final 10.8.3 works with 7870.
     
  5. lobrien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #5
    Power's in: Is there manual driver selection/download?

    Yes, the power's in and the fans spin. The fact that you have a 7870 going relieves me of one concern, which was the amount of power. Hmm...

    Is there any way to manually download and install graphics drivers?
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    Maybe you just got a bad card.

    Just to eliminate software issues, try it in a PC. If you don't have a PC handy, try a clean install of ML updated to 10.8.3 on a separate disk and boot from it.
     
  7. lobrien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #7
    Nope.

    Works like a charm when I use Bootcamp to boot in Windows 7.

    Now that I've rebooted and put in my 2nd (old) graphics card, I can see it again, seemingly driverless...

    Sitting there now as:
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-2
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x6819
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Kernel Extension Info: No Kext Loaded
     
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    Go to S/L/E and drag ATI7000Controller.kext to desktop, this will create a copy

    Then delete the one in S/L/E and replace it with this one.

    You will need to then run a "repair permissions" and restart with the 7850 in.

    Might work.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Attanar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #9
  10. lobrien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #10
    Straight kext replacement didn't work...

    @MacVidCards Thanks for that, but it didn't work for me.

    @Attanar: Will try those steps and report back.
     
  11. lobrien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #11
    The rampagedev technique is too risky for me...

    The rampagedev steps look pretty risky. DSDT injection is not really end-user friendly and I am not interested in putting my system into a state that would be hard to recover from.
     
  12. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #12
    Try what AMango suggested above, maybe for whatever inexplicable reason, your current OS X install isn't playing nice. If it works on a clean OS install, problem solved.
     
  13. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #13
    The device id for 7850 isn't in the main kext.

    The version above I posted has it added.

    If it doesn't work with that after a permissions repair, then the device id must be missing from another place in driver.

    No magic here, if the device isn't listed, the kext doesn't match and load.
     
  14. lobrien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #14
    Desperately seeking id...

    @MacVidCards: OK, just to make sure: When you say "Repair permissions..." you mean "Disk Utility/Repair Permissions," right? I did that, it did indeed manipulate permissions in the kext you provided. Tried a couple reboots, no change in status.

    I checked the info.plist in the kext you provided (now in S/L/E) and see 0x68191002 in the IOPCIMatch key, which to me looks like it matches the values in my System Report/Graphics Displays/ value.

    Any other thoughts?
     
  15. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #15
    I found another place with device id

    try these

    If you already added the fixed 7000 kext, you just need to add the other one.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Owen Imholte macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #16
    This did the job for me! The MSI HD 7850 2GB I bought works fine in my 2009 Mac Pro. It is virtually silent relative to the rest of the machine (which was my goal as the 4870 I had in there before was the loudest component and I do some recording).

    Works with only one of the existing (two) power connectors my old card used.

    Came with DVI->HDMI and Mini-displayport to full displayport adapters, which seem nice. Both MDPs work with my 27" cinema display.

    Stability seems fine.
     
  17. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #17
    You are welcome.

    Keep in mind that the next time there is an OS update run, you will need to repeat this if Apple/AMD haven't decided to include it.

    Glad it worked out for you.
     
  18. lobrien thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #18
    Update: Success!

    Yes! @MacVidCards latest has done the trick!
     
  19. Owen Imholte macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #19
    Slight addendum. After I went through the above steps my internal sound devices stopped working (optical, internal speaker, line in/out, and headphones). They didn't show up in System Preferences > Sound, or anywhere else they usually are. External like Display Audio and various recording devices were fine.

    I rebooted, repaired permissions, etc. What finally fixed it was zapping the PRAM. Held down Command-Option-P-R on boot for about 30 seconds to a minute (screen is black, or maybe has a tiny unix-like white cursor in upper left) during this time but finally heard the startup chime and all is resolved.
     
  20. enshong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #20
  21. iasonorl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    #21
    hi this fix do not work for my mac pro 3,1 2008 . with 10.8.3 osx
    i have a sapphire hd 7850 2g overclock dual-x
    and i has black screen afte it logs in the descktop
    any ideas ?

    thanks
     
  22. iasonorl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    #22

    thanks a milion !!!! when i instaled it manuali it did not work bud when i used
    Kext Drop
    http://osxdaily.com/2012/01/04/install-kext-files-easily-with-kext-drop/

    it worked fine with boot screen fine to !!!!!

    cheers
     
  23. enshong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #23
    I have a big problem.. I installed the video card and placed the kext files but I can't repair permissions. I don't have a working video card because the 5770 that came with the MP is dead. How can I go about this? I can connect my MP to my laptop through firewire or access it's files through the network but I can't repair disk permissions through the MBP. :( Is there a keyboard shortcut or a way to force the MP to repair permissions without a display? :(
     
  24. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #24
    If you can boot MBP from MP's HDD in TDM, you'll be able to repair permisions this way.
     
  25. enshong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #25
    It worked!! I didn't know I can boot the MP's HD in the MBP using TDM. :D Thank you soooo much for the idea!
     

Share This Page