Radeon 9000 pro with 128MB??

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by The-Pro, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Sup people,

    i need to get a second GPU for my dual 1GHz MDD. I currently have a Radeon 9000 Pro 64MB and a ATI Rage 16MB. I installed it on a previsionary basis as i needed another monitor, but this card doesn't cut it when displaying 1920x1080 :D
    So I was looking and on amazon I found two Radeon 9000 Pro's
    One with 64MB:
    http://www.amazon.de/Anschluss-Graf...1_1?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1326738581&sr=1-1
    and one with 128MB:
    http://www.amazon.de/Anschluss-Graf...1_2?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1326738581&sr=1-2

    The 128MB would be great but as far as I know there was never a mac version with 128 MB. Is this thing legit?? Dont think I'd get it though comparing the prices. Might aswell stick with another 64MB but I just wondering if it would work

    Cheers
     
  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    I assume you want to replace Rage? If so, you need a PCI card (Rage is PCI too, BTW ;)). Those you've linked are AGP ones. There's only one AGP slot in your MDD. Your best choice would be ATI Radeon 9200 PCI then. Look for used one on eBay.
     
  3. The-Pro thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    Yeh Rage needs to go.

    Ohh right, didnt realise that :D
    Found one on ebay, but is 150€ :eek: Whilst there are some on the US for 38€, damn. Wont order from the US though, customs is so annoying once it arrives here. Friend of mine had a GTX 580 stuck at customs for 2 months!!!!!! there is one on amazon for 99,99 €, still seems expensive. Ill dig around a bit. Any other cards that would work? Geforce 4Ti would but there aren't any of those around :(
    One GPU which could power 2 Full HD screens would be good too.
     
  4. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #4
    The radeon 9800 pro Mac that I have in my MDD is an amazing card, and it'll let you have 2 monitors at once.
     
  5. The-Pro thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    ^^^Too big cooler for MDD. Won't fit. 9800 will be OK, but with single slot cooler. I did mention 9200 PCI because somehow I assumed that you need 2 DVI outputs. If VGA is OK for you, then go for 9800.
    See this one.
     
  7. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
  8. The-Pro thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Well it just makes it a double slot, there are four slots there. wouldn't that be enough room?
    yeh i cant find any 9200 :( at least not any that are decently priced.
    cheers, ill observe the auction.

    haha, really?? with heatsink and all?? Does it require another power cable or anything?

    Are you the one selling it :D :D
     
  9. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #9
    AGP slot is the lowest one. Open your MDD and you'll see what I mean. Some cards do fit, though. Check this out: http://www.s155158671.websitehome.co.uk/x850xtcoolerinam.html
    But one you linked does not seem so.
     
  10. The-Pro thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    ohhh, damn, i forgot the cards face towards the CPU :( i wont get it then, ill look at the single one. Thanks alot
     

Share This Page