radeon gate 2015 15 retina

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zyr123, Jun 1, 2015.

  1. zyr123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #1
    So i have been keeping my fully loaded 2015 15 retina on the discrete card because of theiris pro lag. and it occasionally flashes white. Looks like apple will potentially be screwed again.

    this will be fun.
     
  2. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #2
    @zyr123: It is also possible that it is just the newer graphics card driver.
     
  3. b0fh666 macrumors 6502a

    b0fh666

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    south
  4. estabya macrumors 6502

    estabya

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    #4
    Ideally it would be a simple driver issue. Who knows, it could be the 2011 MBP all over again.... If so let's keep our fingers crossed that Apple acknowledges the problem a little bit sooner...
     
  5. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #5
  6. superlawyer15 macrumors regular

    superlawyer15

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #6
    I've had 0 issues with mine.
    Haven't noticed any lag on iris either.
     
  7. Cuniac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #7
    Its probably a driver issue. I have not had any issues with my MBP yet. I would contact apple care though, They cant fix/report it if they don't know about it. Also start a thread on Apples forums. They do monitor them for new issues. If it gets traction there it will help.
     
  8. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    I keep mine on the dedicated card all the time too. Haven't noticed any flickering.

    OP, you're still within the 14 day return period...
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    I have the 2015 and haven't seen any lag or white flashes. It might be a problem with your specific machine.
     
  10. msh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #10
    So you've never had an early '08 MBP?
     
  11. Gary500 macrumors regular

    Gary500

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #11
    Is it bad to always keep it in on the dGPU? Mine is almost always connected via the charger, but I leave it using the integrated Iris Pro. Would I get much better performance for always using the dGPU?
     
  12. Cuniac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #12
    If the system is doing its job right it should switch and not matter. But if there are tasks using the iGPU in theory they could run a bit better on the dGPU
     
  13. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #13
    It's not necessary to alter it's default setup. It will automatically switch to the discrete GPU when it needs to. If it doesn't switch, it's not needed (excluding bugs).
     
  14. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    To be honest, I'm rather nervous about buying a dGPU equipped mac at this stage. I have to believe apple has gotten beyond the issues from the prior models but I can't be sure of that.
     
  15. macjunk(ie) macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #15
    and that is why I bought the base model 2015 MBP with å 512GB disk..even when the cost difference between this and the and the one with the dGPU was a few bucks....Just not worth the risk. Having said that...the card usually fails after a couple of years....come back again in 2017 :)
     
  16. superlawyer15 macrumors regular

    superlawyer15

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #16
    I don't see the problem here ...there is no way of knowing for sure it will fail, and if it does Apple will probably just give you a new one.

    No harm no foul.
     
  17. b0fh666 macrumors 6502a

    b0fh666

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    south
    #17
    nope... was a linux luser back then - first mac was a 2012. actually, thats because I used linux that I hated ATI (now AMD) so much, not mac failures :)

    there was a nvidiagate back in 2008 then?
     
  18. sebseb macrumors 6502

    sebseb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    #18
    And 2010 as well with the GT330M. Many reported it to have intermittent black screens and constant crashes leading to a 3 year warranty extension on the logic board which ended in 2015. I personally prefer nvidia as well but it's not like going with nvidia would eliminate any issue.
     
  19. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #19
    I was hit with ATI failure with a 2002 iBook (there was an extended replacement programme for that) but I don't know whether it was the same root issue. All of my Macs have been ATI/AMD (not due to choice, but rather that's just what's been available at the time) and the iBook is the only one that ever failed on me. Even widespread problems only affect a small percentage of machines, so I didn't have any hesitation with buying a new one.
     
  20. totten76 macrumors regular

    totten76

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #20
    I know many people have had issues but I really hope I don't need to keep being concernend...it's 2015
     
  21. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #21
    Please prove to me it's a design and/or manufacturing fault and not a software glitch or a single faulty Mac. I think it's more likely you are jumping to badly thought through conclusions based on paranoia!

    We never saw 2002 iBooks, 2008 MBPs or the 2011 MBPs exhibiting similar faults within the first couple of days.
     
  22. redshifted macrumors regular

    redshifted

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Location:
    Midwest
    #22
    I just got a replacement 15" 2015 MBP 2.8Ghz. My 2011 17" MBP burned through three logic board replacements (because of Radeongate - three GPU/logic board failures). :apple: replaced it finally. Thank-you :apple:.

    Since then, I have noticed a couple of screen "flashes" - but I think it's related to having Graphics Switching enabled. After running it with graphics switching disabled I haven't seen it. I don't have enough screen time to relax just yet though.

    I also tried running Unigine Valley in Benchmark Mode and all I see is some graphics glitching on the transitions between scenes. The scenes themselves run flawlessly. I get 18 fps - 6fps results with an overall benchmark score of 452 after a few trials. The fans kick-in at about 87ºC and quickly run the temps down to 65ºC.

    Running PS CC 2014 using Open CL2 doesn't seem to be a problem so far. All of these things provoked GPU anomaly/failures on my recently deceased 17" MBP so I'm okay with it - so far :cool:.
     
  23. john0011 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    #23
    IMO, it's obvious AMD was willing to bend over for Apple this time. Look at at the M290X, M2950 , and now the M370X. All Mac exclusive. I think Nvidia gave applethe finger (we have what, 10% of the desktop/laptop market) and maybe that's a good thing. My iMac 5K just plain purrs along. New MBP /w AMD GPU doing okay for a mid range GPU too (very impressed with the 295x in my iMac)
     
  24. Natzoo macrumors 65816

    Natzoo

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Not sure where i am
    #24
    why did apple switch to AMD, cheaper? crappier? smaller?
     
  25. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #25
    Better OpenCL performance and it's the same vendor as the GPUs in the Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page