Raid 0 on sonnet tempo non pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by RoastingPig, Aug 3, 2014.

  1. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #1
  2. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #2
    It appears that the Tempo card comes with an "extender plate to mount second SSD" in the package.

    http://www.sonnettech.com/product/tempossd.html#
    Package Contents
    Tempo SSD 6Gb/s SATA PCIe 2.0 Drive Card for SSDs
    Extension plate (for mounting second SSD)
    Plate and drive mounting screws
    Documentation

    Note: SSDs sold separately


    The downloadable manual also shows the plate attached
    http://www.sonnettech.com/support/downloads/manuals/tempo_ssd_qsg.pdf


    The do have a new Tempo Pro Plus which appears to be the same as the old dual drive one with the addition of 2 external eSATA ports on the mounting bracket.



    -howard
     
  3. RoastingPig thread starter macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3
    I saw that but it also says that the max speed is 660mb/s which is way slower than other numbers I read on here for the pro version.
     
  4. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #4
    It shows the Tempo as having a PCIe 2.0 x2 interface, while the Tempo Pro has a PCIe 2.0 x4 interface. That may be the reason for the speed limitation on the Tempo card.
     
  5. RoastingPig thread starter macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    I just purchased the pro from owc...any idea what block size i should use...mostly working with 5-10gb video files..
     
  6. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #6
    I just used the default when I set mine up some time ago ... didn't really know at the time. I would think a larger block size would be good, you might get a better idea from some of the video guys who frequent this board.

    I wonder if Sonnet has resolved the issues of booting Windows on a Mac with this new version of the card. I initially wanted to have one SSD for OS X and the other for Windows on the previous version card, but quickly found out that Windows would not boot on a Mac from that card ... with or without OS X also present on the card. They are kind of cagey in the specs regarding Windows compatibility with only a Windows (BIOS) computer or a Mac Pro.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    No, they didn't fix it yet. No boot manager, and can't boot Windows from it.
     
  8. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #8
    Dang ... I would get one of the new Pro PLUS boards if they fixed that issue, and the 2 eSATA ports would be nice as well (although they appear to share the same controllers as the attached drives). :(
     

Share This Page