RAID 0 Strip Set not Booting iMac i7 (2xSSD)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by symbology, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. symbology macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #1
    So, I put my two SSD's in and since I was having a problem with the non-boot disk dropping off when in sleep mode (See Here) I decided to put the two disks in Raid 0 and see what happens.

    Well, I am not able to get the Raid 0 disk to boot. I can read it and it is mounted when I boot into the original 1TB HD, but the OS does not load when trying to boot from the raid set. I tried to reboot and use the "option" key and the raid disk shows up, but when I try to boot from it I get a failure every time.

    Setup:
    OEM HD in stock location
    SSD #1 in SSD location next to stock HD
    SSD #2 in Optical Bay
    I am using SuperDuper for disk cloning.

    When the SSD's were not in a raid set, I could boot from either one.

    Any ideas as to what the issue is?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Try doing a clean install of OS X to the RAIDed SSDs
     
  3. symbology thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #3
    Yeah, I was thinking of giving that a try. I will try that tonight when I get home. Thanks...
     
  4. wirelessness macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #4
    I assume you used Disk Utility to create the RAID set. This should work fine. I would try a clean install as mentioned above. Or use a third party tool to view the partitions. It's possible the partition table is messed up. I use gparted or parted magic live cd to view and or create aligned partitions just to be sure.
     
  5. symbology thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #5
    Yes, it is an OS software raid setup using Diskutil
     
  6. symbology thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #6
    So, a fresh install did the trick. It actually just fixed the system as all my installed apps and settings are still in place.

    Thanks guys......
     
  7. digitalhen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006

Share This Page