Raid 0 vs Trim on OCZ Vertex 4 128Gb

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by beto2k7, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #1
    I got a pair of OCZ vertex 4 from amazon at a relly good price but I didn't do my homework before buying and didn't realize trim can't be enabled on raided SSD's so I come here asking for advice. Of the following to cases which would you guys choose and why?

    Case 1.
    Enable Trim: Use a single 128Gb vertex 4 as a boot and applications (CS6, FCS3, C4D) and clone this to the other vertex 4 for backup. Move home folder to a 2x1TB Raid 0. Backup home folder drive to 2TB time capsule.

    Case 2
    Put both vertex 4 drives in Raid 0 for a total of 256GB boot and applications drive, move home folder to a 2x1TB Raid 0. Backup everything to a 2TB time capsule.

    For the ssd's in both cases I'm using this pcie cards in slots 2 and 4 for maximum performance in either case described above.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. chevalier433 macrumors 6502a

    chevalier433

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #2
    why dont you try a software raid?
     
  3. beto2k7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #3
    It is a software raid using disk utility, the cards I mentioned are just to be able to get SATA3 speeds, nothing to do with a hardware raid.
     
  4. chevalier433 macrumors 6502a

    chevalier433

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #4
    In my software raid trim is enabled
     
  5. beto2k7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #5
    Seems like you are right. Just downloaded trim enabler and enabled trim on my soft raid 0 and it says everything "looks super" :D Hope it's really working.
     

Share This Page