RAID 1 Degraded -- need advice -- Please help!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pfleischman, Mar 24, 2009.

  1. pfleischman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #1
    I have a simple mirrored raid setup (just two 1TB drives) with a 1TB Time Machine Drive. I ran Repair Disk Permissions last night and then shut down (Onyx told me to after it scanned my startup volume).

    Today I unplugged my MacPro (it was already off) to plug in another computer for a few min, and when I brought it back up it took a while to boot so I went into disk utility and it started rebuilding the RAID.

    Why all of a sudden would this happen? I am worried, because this computer is my livelihood. The Time Machine Drive is up-to-date, so i'm not sh*ting my pants right now. Any recommendations on backing up hundreds of gigs of photos? I was thinking of getting a Blue Ray burner.
     
  2. brisbaneguy29 macrumors 6502

    brisbaneguy29

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    #2
    I have had this happen twice now.
    I have 2 x 1TB external WD My Book drives in simple mirror RAID, and twice now I have opened disk util, and it has said the RAID was degraded. The machine then proceeded to rebuild the RAID for the next 3 days.

    At the end all data was intact, lost nothing, and I was able to still use the drives during the rebuild.
     
  3. brendon2020 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    #3
    sometimes the raid will break and it could be the drive, but opening up diskutil has always fixed the issue for me. Sometimes i would have to boot off the leopard disk and run diskutil that way.
     
  4. NoNameBrand macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    #4
    What does the SMART status say?

    I've had a problem on a Linux box relating to a MD RAID1 set falling apart every boot. For some reason it hadn't written the set's ID string to the superblock of the disk that was being dropped.

    That said, I have no idea how Mac OS X's software RAID works.
     

Share This Page