RAID 1 for external Harddrives?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by meulemaster, Feb 2, 2009.

?

How dumb is this question?

Poll closed Feb 2, 2010.
  1. OMG!!!! I cannot believe you were smart enough to get a mac and then ask such a dumb question!!!

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. I have heard dumber!

    3 vote(s)
    60.0%
  3. Mwoah, not everyone is as smart as me!

    1 vote(s)
    20.0%
  4. Not dumb at all buddy!! that's whay we are here:)

    1 vote(s)
    20.0%
  1. meulemaster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #1
    Hello experts :) Colonel Noob here,

    I have a question concerning backing up my data. So here is the deal.

    I currently have a 2TB WD mirror edition that is setup in RAID 1 so it will mirror all my data. Now I also have a bunch of other drives laying around which I also feel the need to back up and currently I am doing this by doing a whole bunch of dragging and dropping and copying and pasting etc etc etc and this is making me very tired.

    I know that a setup is possible in disk utility but I am not at all sure about how to configure it so I wont lose any of my data.

    Some details about my setup:

    Mac OS X 10.5.6
    PowerPc G5
    Harddrives: two 1TB WD MyBooks, and two 500gig WD Mybooks --> these pairs need to mirror each other and make my life less of a hassle.

    Any suggestions?Tips?

    And I apologize if this is a really dumb question....

    Cheers,

    Colin from Holland
     
  2. senorfrog97 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Austin
  3. rylin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    #3
    The easy way out when backing up large amounts of data is to use:
    * More harddrives, if you want to be able to access everything with short notice
    * Tape, if you don't mind having to wait while the tapes are seeking and uncompressing your data

    For the harddrive solution, have a look at QNAP's products.
    They'll handle RAID, iSCSI, CIFS/SMB, NFS etc. at a reasonable price.

    Personally, I'm considering a QNAP TS-509 or 609, though I might opt to build my own instead.

    Or do you just want to archive your current disks to the 2TB unit?

    Always keep in mind that RAID is not backup -- it's for reliability and/or performance.

    If this isn't the answer you're looking for, I'm afraid I didn't quite understand the question :eek:
     
  4. dagomike macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #4
    I think you're likely to have a performance hit with the RAID 1. I would rather just build an external case with good cooling and a proven, top of the line server drive, then use Time Machine. The idea here is you'll have a backup solution that's less likely to fail, plus have the ability to go back to a specific date and fix a user generated oops. Can't do that with RAID. Like said, RAID isn't a backup. It's operational redundancy. If you need even more reliability than a HDD, go tape.
     
  5. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #5
    lol server drive... Modern SATAs are stupidly reliable.

    Your performance hit is not going to be noticeable. Did you hear someone say they noticed a performance hit? They were lying, or they're insane.

    save your money, use a RAID 1.

    Disk utility has a software RAID option that works just fine. It does RAID0 and RAID 1. I guess you want RAID1.

    as for transferring your data beforehand, you can probably make an image of the drive with disk util, but that'd be huge.
     
  6. Trip.Tucker Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #6
    Raid 1 does incur a small performance hit as data is written and then verified.

    You really should Google mfp and server drives before giggling about a topic you don't seem to understand.

    A little punctuation and capitilization goes a long way so people don't immediately read your post as having come from a 12 year old.
     
  7. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #7
    Yet not as reliable as server drives.
     
  8. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #8
    To the OP: This is very important:


    What exactly do you want to accomplish? Knowing that would help give a better answer.
     
  9. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #9
    I know two things about server drives: They cost 3 times as much, and they're not 3 times as reliable. There is no reason for someone not running a server to not just use a RAID 1 (or even Time Machine and no RAID, for chrissake).

    This, as far as we know, is an average person. Why are server drives a necessity??

    That's what I was saying. I can giggle about server drives all I want: they're over-priced and nobody but eccentric weirdos and big corporations should use them.

    Did I say ANYTHING that was false? No. I'm telling this guy to use a RAID 1 or time machine, and guess what? he'll probably be fine with it. The end.

    Thanks for that! Clearly, I care!
     

Share This Page