Raid 1 format recovery

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SDAVE, Jul 20, 2015.

1. SDAVE macrumors 68040

SDAVE

Hi All, I accidentally formatted a RAID 1 mirror (2x3TB, almost full) and need to recover the data. I haven't written anything to it yet.

I did a quick format. Any help appreciated!

2. chabig macrumors 68040

Since the data is still on the other drive, I think Disk Utility will repair the raid automatically as long as that drive remains part of the set.

3. SDAVE thread starter macrumors 68040

SDAVE

I have 2 drives in a RAID 1 and each one is a slice.

I formatted the main partition that has both drives combined.

Attached Files:

4. chabig macrumors 68040

I am not a RAID expert. RAID 0 slices the data between two drives. In your case, with two 3TB drives, you would end up with a 6TB RAID volume. RAID 1 mirrors the data between two drives. Each contains a complete copy of the data. In your case, two 3TB drives would combine to form a 3TB RAID volume. When you referred in your original post to a RAID 1 mirror, I assumed the two drives were copies of each other. If, in fact, you have a RAID 0 set, you've lost everything on the RAID volume and you must restore from backup. RAID is not a backup solution. You should have a backup solution for your RAID.

5. SDAVE thread starter macrumors 68040

SDAVE

It is a RAID 1, aka mirrored. Should I take out one of the drives and attach it to another mac just to see if I can see the data?

6. chabig macrumors 68040

Your data should be intact. All you need to do is add the newly formatted drive to your RAID. Here are Apple's instructions for doing that: https://support.apple.com/kb/PH5828 When you drag the new disk to your RAID, be sure to choose RAID Slice.

7. chrfr macrumors 603

This isn't how mirrored RAIDs work. They are not backup. If you format the RAID volume, both disks are erased.

8. chabig macrumors 68040