RAID Concatenation vs Stripe

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by tom., Apr 16, 2008.

  1. tom. macrumors 6502

    tom.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I am wondering exactly what the advantages and disadvantages of each are. As far as I can see the concatenation (or JBOD) is slower and you still lose both disks if one fails.

    I have 2 x 1TB disks and ideally I would like them to appear as one. Is there another solution where i wont lose ALL my data if one disk fails?

    Thanks
     
  2. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #2
    The only way to ensure data integrity is by using RAID 1 (Mirroring), so that if one drive fails the other will still be intact, mountable and usable. The downside of this is that you will have 1/2 of the space. In other words 2 x 1TB disks will yield 1TB of space.
     
  3. tom. thread starter macrumors 6502

    tom.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Yes, this isn't an option for me. What I am looking for is an option which will not double my risk of data loss, just keep it the same as it is in single disks. So if one disk fails i don't lose the whole lot, just the one disk of data.

    I need the 2TB in space otherwise i would mirror. I guess what i need is a way of making them appear as one, when actually data is being stored an individual disks.
     
  4. ElectricSheep macrumors 6502

    ElectricSheep

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    #4
    It might help to know why you need to present these two 1 TB drives as a single 2 TB volume.
     
  5. tom. thread starter macrumors 6502

    tom.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Because i can be storing very large files, it is useful to have the drive appear as one, instead of deciding which drive it must be placed on. Its more of a convenience, speed is not an issue.
     
  6. QuantumLo0p macrumors 6502a

    QuantumLo0p

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #6
    Looks like you are going to need a third disk if you want to attain your desired capacity, speed and data integrity.

    I use raid-0 with two disks, which is fast, but I also have to perform regular backups in case of failure.
     
  7. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    Then I believe your only option would be to add and additional hard drive and hardware RAID controller card.
     
  8. tom. thread starter macrumors 6502

    tom.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK

Share This Page