RAID question: why can't mirroring have advantage of stripping?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rawdawg, Oct 23, 2009.

1. rawdawg macrumors 6502

As you can see I am no programming or systems expert and don't understand the specifics of how RAId works. I do understand the differences in RAID setups though. If stripping increases performance by allowing drive 1 to read block A and then allowing drive 2 to read block B then why can't a mirrored set do the same thing?

I assume I may be confused about what defines a block or specifics on how data is read in a RAID0 setup but so long as there is (for this example) a block A on drive 1 and a block B on drive 2 than I don't see why software shouldn't be able to read both drives simultaneously as in a stripped set (while also retaining the redundant advantages of mirroring for backup purposes)?

Can someone please enlighten me? There's got to be a reason no one has done this.

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

With mirroring the exact, bit-for-bit, data is on both drives. There is no performance advantage to read the same data twice which is what you would do if you read from both drives in a mirrored RAID set.

3. steve2112 macrumors 68040

steve2112

As robbieduncan stated, in a mirrored set(RAID 1), the data is copied bit for bit to a second drive. You trade speed for redundancy. There are actually combinations of the two technologies. You can have RAID 0+1, which is where the data is striped across two drives, then mirrored to another two drives. You could also do RAID 1+0, which would mirror the drives, then stripe it across two other drives, but that seems a bit silly to me.

4. belvdr macrumors 603

Some array controllers are smart enough to read different data from both drives to speed up read access though.

It's not silly at all. It's a very good system for standalone boxes that are limited by RAID 1's and RAID 5's write speeds.

5. rawdawg thread starter macrumors 6502