RAID Set Up Question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Drew888, Feb 18, 2015.

1. Drew888 macrumors 6502a

Drew888

Question:

I just bought the OWC Thunderbay 4 Mini (Enclosure only) and 4 Crucial 500GB SSDs.

I am new to RAID, so go easy on me. (I pretty much just know the difference between RAID 0 and RAID 1.)

Do I need software to set this up? I didn't buy the OWC enclosure that includes the software. (Wasn't even thinking about it since I supplied my own SSDs)

I basically want to use the Thunderbay as a 1TB RAID 1. (2 of the 4 SSDs mirrored on the other 2)

Is this something that I could do within OS X? Or do I need additional software?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

2. Shazaam! macrumors member

Shazaam!

Open Disk Utility and click on RAID box. Select Mirrored RAID Set and add disks to the RAID per the instructions.

3. hfg macrumors 68040

hfg

There will be 3 steps to take to create the RAID-10 with 4 disks you desire.

Follow the above steps for 2 of the drives, then again for the other 2 drives to "mirror" each pair in RAID-1.

Then, again using Disk Utility, create a RAID-0 using each of the logical mirrored drives just created. You will now have a 1 TB logical drive with dual redundancy.

4. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

Yep, Apple's Disc Utility will work great. It's all you need.