RAID Setup for Mac Pro and Video Editing

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Nate Martin, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. Nate Martin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    #1
    Hello everyone!

    I'm new to the forum and have a question I could really use some help answering. So here goes...

    I recently acquired a Mac Pro from a friend to use as my primary video editing computer (I produce commercials and wedding videos). Now, I'm totally new to the mysterious world of RAID and only have a limited understanding so you'll have to pardon my ignorance at times.

    The Mac Pro has 3 1TB SATA drives as well as a 120GB SSD drive.

    I also recently purchased a 4TB G-Tech G-RAID drive that I was originally using when I was doing my video editing off of my Macbook Pro.

    Now here's what I theoretically would like to do or know if this even makes sense to do.

    I want the speed and capacity of a striped RAID array within the Mac Pro, but that's not the most secure if a drive goes bad. So I got to thinking...

    What if I had my three 1TB internal hard drives in my Mac Pro setup as a striped RAID and then setup a mirrored RAID array to that striped RAID with my 4TB G-RAID drive?

    1. Is that possible? Has anyone done it?
    2. Does that even make sense to do?

    I appreciate your help and guidance!
     
  2. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #2
    In general, it would be a bad idea to mirror (or RAID-5) between enclosures - one cable slip and you've lost the mirror.

    Consider manually cloning the internal RAID to the external - that would be safe, and you could snapshot projects at significant points. This gives added protection against user or system error - with a mirror an error could destroy both copies simultaneously, whereas with a clone the second copy would survive.
     
  3. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    sell everything, get a promise pegasus. that's what I did :apple: You will not find any solution that will make you more happy for video editing at groundbreaking speeds plus security and good nights of happy sleep :)
     
  4. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #4
    But his MP doesn't have T-Bolt.... :(
     
  5. avemestr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #5
    Always remember: RAID (no matter the config) is NOT a backup solution.

    What I'd suggest: Stripe the internal disks (RAID-1). Use SuperDuper or similar to schedule backup onto the external drives.
     
  6. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Oh sorry, didnt get that :( They should really open up a separate nMP forum
     
  7. Nate Martin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    #7
    Thanks for the input! So, what if I would setup a striped RAID internally on the Mac Pro and use Super Duper Drive to create a clone of those drives on the G-RAID external drive?

    Should I only clone the SATA drives or the SSD (where apps are stored) as well?

    ----------

    Thanks so much for the suggestion. I think I'm leaning towards doing that.

    ----------

    I've always had those and Drobo systems on the back of my mind. But since it's just me and another editor at the moment I can't justify spending the money until I have a studio with multiple editing suites.
     
  8. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    RAID-1 = MIRROR! :rolleyes:

    Backing up any RAID = +1
     

Share This Page