Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mawsir84

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 16, 2010
Hey everyone -

This is my first post on this great forum, although I have referred to it many times for quality info. I am a QA engineer for Cakewalk music, so I plan on giving back to the community down the line with audio topics. Here we go:

I have a Mac Pro I got from work and want to set it up right for problem free, redundant operations because I do my personal and work related projects on it and the data is irreplaceable. Here is what I have and how I was planning on doing the setup. Any feedback would be great, because this is my first RAID setup and wanna get it right:

Disk 1 = 370GB (OSX and Bootcamp)
Disk 2 = 1 TB (Media, samples, project files, etc)
Disk 3 = 1 TB (RAID 1 paired with Disc 2)
Disc 4 = 1 TB (OS Images and Time machine backup for Disc 1)
External HD = 1 TB (Raid 1 Paired with Disc 4)

*All RAID will be done through Disc utility

My specific concerns:
1. Will having Disc 2 and 3 as a RAID 1 Pair decrease the disc performance? I will be using disc 2 to stream audio samples into my softsynths and was wondering what kinda of negative impact RAID 1 has on streaming.

2. Can you setup an external HD as a RAID 1 pair with an internal drive? I will not be streaming any audio off Disc 4 so performance is not an issue. It would just be nice to have a redundant backup of the drive with all my images and Time machine data.

Any input would be great! Thanks in advance.

garybUK

Jun 3, 2002
Raid 1 should have little or no performance impact maybe a little on write performance but you should be good to go here. Raid between a internal and external disk isn't a great option but is do-able. As long as it's only Raid 1, but performance may decrease depending on the connection speed.